SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    967
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Bizzare server error Help!

    I'm beginning to think this server is supernaturally possessed.

    I ported a site to a different server. Now, trying to submit a long post it returns an unnamed server error.

    Even if I exit at the beginning of the script before the data is processed and added to the database it still returns this error. So I don't think its database related.

    Here's where it gets weird. When I remove every occurrence of the word 'from' from the bottom third of the text it submits fine. The word 'from' appears at the top of the text a number of times.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks,
    E

  2. #2
    SitePoint Addict svcghost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    288
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Did the root change at all on the new server?

    Also, can you post a little more about this error? And maybe some of your code? It's a bit vague at the moment.

  3. #3
    Twitter: @AnthonySterling silver trophy AnthonySterling's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    North-East, UK.
    Posts
    6,111
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This form where you add the content, is it by chance using method="get" ?
    @AnthonySterling: I'm a PHP developer, a consultant for oopnorth.com and the organiser of @phpne, a PHP User Group covering the North-East of England.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    967
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes, the root changed, but I used server variables for the paths. So nothing was changed. Everything else works. The form works with different text.

    The from processor is too big to post, but even if I kill it at the very first line I get a server error. So I think there is some kind of server configuration that is triggering the error.

    Are there any server configurations that could cause this problem? If so how would they be modified in the htaccess file.

    thanks e

  5. #5
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    967
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Its using method='post'. What were you thinking? An encoding error? E

  6. #6
    Twitter: @AnthonySterling silver trophy AnthonySterling's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    North-East, UK.
    Posts
    6,111
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Some web servers/browsers choke when the URI is too long, I though this maybe the case. I guess not.
    @AnthonySterling: I'm a PHP developer, a consultant for oopnorth.com and the organiser of @phpne, a PHP User Group covering the North-East of England.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    967
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for the thought.

  8. #8
    Twitter: @AnthonySterling silver trophy AnthonySterling's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    North-East, UK.
    Posts
    6,111
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Pop up the code that compiles the SQL query.
    @AnthonySterling: I'm a PHP developer, a consultant for oopnorth.com and the organiser of @phpne, a PHP User Group covering the North-East of England.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    967
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    After spending hours trying to fix this I finally broke down and called tech support. It turned out a pattern in the text triggered an sql injection alert which shut down the form submission. This was a Church Sermon there wasn't any code in it. Just an arbitrary coincidence.

    E


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •