SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    North Central AR
    Posts
    231
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Dreamwaever MX error

    I have been using Dreamwaever MX for a short time and have loved it till today. Every time I try to "put" a file, I get the following error:

    ---------

    While executing DWMenu_Site_Put command in menus.xml, the following Javascript error(s) occurred:

    exception throw in native function

    ----------

    Any one know what this error is or causing it?

    I've been using DW's ftp features for some time, and never had a problem with it, as I've read other do. And even MX was working fine till today.

    I seached the macromedia site and found little reference to the error. It did mention a corrupt menus.xml file and replacing it with a back up. There was a menus.bak, which I renamed to menus.xml, but still the same error. I am guessing both menus.* files are corrupt?

    Any ideas?

    Thanks in advance.

    ronnie
    The largest selection of PLR Articles on the Planet!
    Many Private Label Rights Products.

  2. #2
    Blissed off
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    422
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Did you try uninstalling and reinstalling DW mx?

  3. #3
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    North Central AR
    Posts
    231
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes, that was a thought. I was hoping that would be a last resort. I put alot of code and set up all my sites, so hate to start over. But it looks like I may not have a choice.

    Any other MX users having problems? I really like MX, hate to see it have bugs.

    ronnie
    The largest selection of PLR Articles on the Planet!
    Many Private Label Rights Products.

  4. #4
    BoOm-Rocka! Smarky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,319
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yeah MX is the most buggy version of Dreamweaver to date

    I have had various Javascript errors in various XML files just like you.

    I have also had dreamweaver close one me "fatal exception" when renaming form fields and the line numbering starting from a strange number rather than 1
    Garlic bread, I've tasted it, it's the future

  5. #5
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    North Central AR
    Posts
    231
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My problem was fixed with a uninstall and re-install, not a problem since.

    As far as MX being buggy, I dont see it. I have'nt used it that long, but the above is the only problem I've had. And I did mess with the menus and such, so maybe it was my fault. Course I did'nt touch the menus.xml that i remember.

    Anyways, I have always loved the dreamweaver line with very few problems. I dont know if I'd blame a fatal error on MX, I would guess thats windows myself.

    Besides the one problem, MX has worked without any other hitchs for me.

    ronnie
    The largest selection of PLR Articles on the Planet!
    Many Private Label Rights Products.

  6. #6
    BoOm-Rocka! Smarky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,319
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Don't you find MX a little slow to work with? For example if you have 5 documents open and switch to a different tab sometimes it can take about 20 seconds plus for that tab to be displayed, in which time DW stops responding in the process.

    However it is still a great app, just a little slow and unresponsive with a few bugs but to be honest I haven't had so many problems recently, just it has been a little unresponsive when switching tabs and some updates take a few seconds to show in design view.
    Garlic bread, I've tasted it, it's the future

  7. #7
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    North Central AR
    Posts
    231
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    In my opinion, Dreamweaver has always been a resource hog. I think it really depends on your system and mainly memory. When I was running older versions on a slow machine and less memory, yes it did get slow and take forever, it seemed, to move on.

    I dont have a screaming system now, pent 3 833 with 512 ram and it runs great for me. I've had over 10 pages open at a time and never really noticed a problem.

    To me MX, using the homesite style/set-up they have the best of both worlds. The options/features I like about Dreamweaver and the features/options I liked about homesite, all in one. Now, I use one app instead of two for html, php, ect. I also really like the ease of adding code snippets, the older versions, it was kind of a pain.

    My only wish would be, to able to customize some toolbars/menu's more. Make my own toolbar so I would'nt have to switch them all the time. Course maybe that can be done too, I just dont know how to do it...

    ronnie
    The largest selection of PLR Articles on the Planet!
    Many Private Label Rights Products.

  8. #8
    BoOm-Rocka! Smarky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,319
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Thumbs up

    Don't get me wrong I really like Dreamweaver MX! I use it all the time.

    Today it has been running better, I have less tabs open, I think that slows it down allot on my system. Also the PHP support isn't so hot and that tends to give a few problems in terms of speed and stability. But apart from that Dreamwevaer MX gets a thumbs up from me!
    Garlic bread, I've tasted it, it's the future

  9. #9
    SitePoint Evangelist worksdev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Central, PA - originally from Monterey, CA
    Posts
    497
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    One way to speed up Dreamweaver a bit:

    If you have a lot of extensions installed consider cutting down on some. Use the extensions manager to de-select or select the extensions you need. Yes it requires a restart of Dreamweaver, but generally you can have an idea of the extensions you'll need for developing that day.

    best reagrds,
    worksdev


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •