SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast bigEdoggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    34
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Unhappy PHP4.2.2 with Apache2.0.39

    Am I a doofburger?? I'm trying to set up PHP4.2.2 on WIN2K Pro running Apache2.0.39 and am not able to get PHP configured properly even after following the guidelines in the "Build Your Own Database Driven Website Using PHP & MySQL" book by Kevin Yank.

    When I change my httpd.conf file to read what it says in the book then APACHE can no longer see the default page or the phpinfo.php file I created.

    Am I missing something? Is there something new that needs to be added in order for PHP 4.2.2 to work?

    Please help.

  2. #2
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    19
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The most easy way to work with PHP is setup PHP Triad.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast bigEdoggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    34
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    When I comment out the text given in the book to add to Apache I can see the default page again. I guess I'm a glutton for punishment but I don't want the "easy way out". I appreciate your input. Having software do it for me won't help me to understand the processes any better. I know I can do this. I just need to get the proper syntax down.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    625
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ok, do the following:
    1. Add this two lines in your httpd.conf
    LoadModule php4_module C:/php/sapi/php4apache2.dll
    AddType application/x-httpd-php .php

    Remove the line AddModule mod_php4.c should you have added it.

    Restart Apache. That should work. If not let me know the what is written in your error logs.

    Edit: i have no idea what is written in Kevins book, so if this information happened to be already there then im sorry...
    Last edited by datune; Aug 7, 2002 at 10:52.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast bigEdoggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    34
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Schuweeet!!! Thank you so very much. All I needed to do was pay attention to what the directory was named and add the "2". Thanks!!! So I was a doofburger.

  6. #6
    purple monkey dishwasher scoates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    794
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The book deals with 1.3.x, IIRC.

    S

  7. #7
    SitePoint Enthusiast bigEdoggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    34
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    So should I "backtrack" and load Apache 1.3 or will I be fine now that I have PHP running?

  8. #8
    purple monkey dishwasher scoates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    794
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Now that PHP is up, it should be (nearly) transparent. Especially to a beginner.

    PHP is not considered "stable" on Apache2, though.

    You should be fine for the most part.

    S

  9. #9
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    625
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by scoates
    Now that PHP is up, it should be (nearly) transparent. Especially to a beginner.

    PHP is not considered "stable" on Apache2, though.

    You should be fine for the most part.

    S
    That's not true anymore scoates. Apache2 has been up and running since 2000, and PHP by now should be considered stable, even on Apache2

  10. #10
    SitePoint Enthusiast bigEdoggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    34
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well, I finished Chapter 1 and the code ran fine. If I have anymore questions I'll make sure to post them on this forum. I appreciate your help...both of you. Take care.

  11. #11
    Mlle. Ledoyen silver trophy seanf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    7,168
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by datune
    That's not true anymore scoates
    Yes it is! 4.3 is going to be the first stable release for Apache 2*

    Sean
    Harry Potter

    -- You lived inside my world so softly
    -- Protected only by the kindness of your nature

  12. #12
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    625
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Look, show me something that proves PHP to be unstable on Apache 2?

    I haven't had a problem sofar with nothing, and ive done quite a lot sofar, if i may say so.

    Oh, im sure there are always bugs to be shown and found, no matter what version of whatever software you use, but don't you agree that people are exagerating (not sure if this is written correctly, english is not my native language) quite quickly?


    Best regards from Vienna,
    datune

    Ps: How do you spell exaggerate? excagerate?

  13. #13
    Mlle. Ledoyen silver trophy seanf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    7,168
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I did not say it was unstable, I just posted what the PHP guys said about the release

    Note: Apache2 support is EXPERIMENTAL
    Sean
    Harry Potter

    -- You lived inside my world so softly
    -- Protected only by the kindness of your nature

  14. #14
    purple monkey dishwasher scoates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    794
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You know how you never install a redhat .0 version, and only a .1 cautiously? (5.0, 7.0, etc).

    Same goes for PHP on apache2.
    The apache2 module is new. It's marked experimental. I wouldn't put it on a production server. When it was released, it hadn't been peer-reviewed (much), or profiled for things like memory leaks and buffer overruns.

    Like I said, you're probably fine in a non-production environment (learning to code, development, etc), but if you ask me, it's not ready to use "in real life" until the brains behind PHP say so. (-:

    S


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •