SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

View Poll Results: Should text be displayed as graphics to make it look nicer?

Voters
16. You may not vote on this poll
  • Definitely

0 0%
  • Sometimes

7 43.75%
  • Rarely

4 25.00%
  • NO!!!!

5 31.25%
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Using graphics to display anti-aliased text

Hi,

Im fairly new to web design, been doing it on and off for a couple of years. I have my biggest client ever at the moment, and the whole business which has 6 figure funding will hinge on the web site Im designing! (gulp!)

My question to all you seasoned designers out there is...

Is it a good idea to use graphics so the text on a site looks nice and smooth and clear? Or is there another way to produce nice smooth text on screen? I'm concerned about search engines and spiders not picking up the valuable content of the site if its all presented in graphics rather than plain old text. Does anyone have any suggestions? Do I just have to put up with blocky fonts and stop being so anal about my sites appearance!!??

Cheers everyone who responds !!

Last edited by shirudell; Aug 6, 2002 at 12:39.

I am obstructing justice. bronze trophy fatnewt's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    well you definitely can't put your whole site into images. Search Engines won't like that too much... and peoples' heads will explode when they try to get the site via 56k modems.

When your visitors spontaneously explode... you have a problem.

Anti-aliased graphics are great for titles/logos and larger page headers, but keep your text as text. Fast-loading.

I don't find it too blocky. Try playing with CSS and get yourself a font that you're happy with.

Former Staff Member silver trophy Adam P.'s Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)