SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: get URL ?

  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Wink get URL ?

    have a small problem. The getURL refers to <a href> in the HTML world right? If so, how can one link to an anchored link when in HTML world, it's <a name>.

    I have a long informative html file which is being linked by a flash navigation which calls the links as <a href="test.html#help"> etc. This doesn't work but is there any possible solution to this ?

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Drupaler bronze trophy greg.harvey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,258
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Not tried it, but I imagine it would be:

    Code:
    getURL ("test.html#help");
    Does that not work?

    G

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    nope .... flash doesn't recognize anything after the # symbol in getURL

  4. #4
    ...
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    759
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thats a weird one, it will work using
    getURL ("page.htm#bookmark"); when its online but not off.

    There's some more info here about it.

  5. #5
    Drupaler bronze trophy greg.harvey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,258
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Chas, that page is about as much use as a chocolate teapot! All I get is a JavaScript error and nothing! Obviously not tested on IE6!!

    Still -- that IS weird ..... I have a similar issue when building CD-ROMs on the server. The links don't work until the disk's on the CD, even though they're relative ... ???

    I mean, what's that about?!

    Weird, weird, weird, weird, weird!

  6. #6
    ...
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    759
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok, here's what the page said:

    //jump to anchor, same page, online or localhost only
    on (release) {
    getURL ("myPage.html#bottom");
    }

    //offline version
    getURL ("myPage.html%23bottom");

    To get the offline version working you'll need to convert all hexadecimal sequences '#' to ASCII characters, this'll work for testing offline - you could always use Flash MX's search and replace to change it back later'


    Macromedia says its a browser issue and came up with a Javascript solution

    http://www.macromedia.com/support/fl...ed_anchors.htm


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •