SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Guru XraySierra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    850
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question Strange Chrome Bug. CSS or WordPress problem?

    I've been converting this Photoshop concept to WordPress and just got this very strange bug in Chrome only! It's as if there is another blank menu item before hand.

    The actual page is hosted at http://stamant.xraysierra.com

    Safari


    Chrome
    Chris Blackwell - my blog and ramblings
    Comicville - Daily News and Comic Reviews

    "web development is what I love...so that's what I do"


  2. #2
    Ripe Tomatos silver trophybronze trophy Rayzur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    4,174
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It's as if there is another blank menu item before hand.
    That does seem to be the case, you can see the extra anchor sitting there in chrome dev tools.

    It is not in the markup so WP and Chrome are getting their wires crossed somewhere.


  3. #3
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    40,481
    Mentioned
    182 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Hi,

    I think its caused by this image which hasn't been closed properly.

    Code:
            <p class="sitename"><a href="http://stamant.xraysierra.com/"><img src="http://stamant.xraysierra.com/wp-content/themes/stamant/images/logo.png" alt="St. Amant &amp; Sons"</a></p>
    It should be:

    Code:
        <h1 class="sitename"><a href="http://stamant.xraysierra.com/"><img src="http://stamant.xraysierra.com/wp-content/themes/stamant/images/logo.png" alt="St. Amant &amp; Sons"></a></h1>

  4. #4
    SitePoint Guru XraySierra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    850
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That was it! Thank you so much for your help.

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul O'B View Post
    Hi,

    I think its caused by this image which hasn't been closed properly.

    Code:
            <p class="sitename"><a href="http://stamant.xraysierra.com/"><img src="http://stamant.xraysierra.com/wp-content/themes/stamant/images/logo.png" alt="St. Amant &amp; Sons"</a></p>
    It should be:

    Code:
        <h1 class="sitename"><a href="http://stamant.xraysierra.com/"><img src="http://stamant.xraysierra.com/wp-content/themes/stamant/images/logo.png" alt="St. Amant &amp; Sons"></a></h1>
    Chris Blackwell - my blog and ramblings
    Comicville - Daily News and Comic Reviews

    "web development is what I love...so that's what I do"


  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    14
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi.

    I'm having the same issue at my site, it just appeared about a week ago out of the blue. www.thompulliam.com

    I looked to see if there were any images not properly closed but I didn't see any.

    Please advise. This is very annoying!

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard donboe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,147
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by pullie View Post
    Hi.

    I'm having the same issue at my site, it just appeared about a week ago out of the blue. www.thompulliam.com

    I looked to see if there were any images not properly closed but I didn't see any.

    Please advise. This is very annoying!
    I don't see anything out of the ordinary in your menu or did you fix it?

  7. #7
    Ripe Tomatos silver trophybronze trophy Rayzur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    4,174
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by pullie View Post
    Hi.

    I'm having the same issue at my site....

    Please advise. This is very annoying!
    Welcome to SitePoint

    Please start your own thread for further assistance.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    14
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No, I have not fixed it.

    I started a new thread for the issue here: http://www.sitepoint.com/forums/show...76#post4741376

    I've uploaded screenshots too.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •