SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot gloryzone's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    166
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Trying to fix my site!!!

    Hello all, i am trying to fix my website, and having quite a time with it.

    www.calebgroup.com

    Basically I am trying to fix the links on the left hand side to go where I need them to, but also I want those links to automatically update on all the other pages as well. I know I did this within DW4 before, but cant seem to remember how to do so now.

    Any help/advice is appreciated
    Last edited by gloryzone; Aug 2, 2002 at 12:26.
    looking for an Independent Sales Rep...NeedARep
    Michiana's Premier Online Destination- MichianaOnline
    Michiana's Premier Auction Site- AuctionMichiana

  2. #2
    SitePoint Enthusiast xteriormotive's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Pasadena, CA
    Posts
    36
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Trying to fix my site!!!

    Originally posted by gloryzone
    Hello all, i am trying to fix my website, and having quite a time with it.

    www.calebgroup.com

    Basically I am trying to fix the links on the left hand side to go where I need them to, but also I want those links to automatically update on all the other pages as well. I know I did this within DW4 before, but cant seem to remember how to do so now.

    Any help/advice is appreciated
    I am not sure I follow the question.

    None of those links, actually link to working pages as far as I can see.

    Please advise further as to what it is you are trying to accomplish.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot gloryzone's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    166
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i guess my most basic question is how do I update the links so that it automatically updates all the links on the site
    looking for an Independent Sales Rep...NeedARep
    Michiana's Premier Online Destination- MichianaOnline
    Michiana's Premier Auction Site- AuctionMichiana

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Birmingham
    Posts
    10
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The methods I use are PHP or SSI which are fairly easy to use.

    on-line tutorials http://freeola.info/ rubbish host but fairly easy to follow instructions!

  5. #5
    My precious!!! astericks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    1,971
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The bill pay pro link is broken on the site. it brings me to this page.

    http://www.calebgroup.com/www.billpaypro.com

  6. #6
    SitePoint Zealot gloryzone's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    166
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yes, i know....i think I need to re-examine the whole site setup.

    thanks for the heads up though
    looking for an Independent Sales Rep...NeedARep
    Michiana's Premier Online Destination- MichianaOnline
    Michiana's Premier Auction Site- AuctionMichiana

  7. #7
    Fully Qualified Fool :) luke-innovative's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Kent, UK
    Posts
    256
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ...but also I want those links to automatically update on all the other pages as well. I know I did this within DW4 before...
    gloryzone i think ur in need of a template, this seems to be the most obvious way of doing what you need.

    are ya still using DW4 or are ya using DWMX ?


    Hope this helps
    Luke
    Luke-Martin.com (work in progress) :: Independent Web Designer's Portal
    Freelance Forums :: Sign Up Here
    "What happens if you get scared half to death twice?"

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You could also use Javascript if you don't have access to a server side solution such as PHP or Server-Side Includes.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  9. #9
    SitePoint Zealot gloryzone's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    166
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am using a template within DW4.

    So i should make all the changes within the template and then update everything right? How exactly is this done again?

    Thanks for the help.
    looking for an Independent Sales Rep...NeedARep
    Michiana's Premier Online Destination- MichianaOnline
    Michiana's Premier Auction Site- AuctionMichiana

  10. #10
    Fully Qualified Fool :) luke-innovative's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Kent, UK
    Posts
    256
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    PHP?

    ya dont really need PHP to do what he wants, the best way would be to just use a template.

    gloryzone, if you already have a template for your site, just open it up, make the changes, and then when you save it, it should automatically change all other files associated with the template.

    If this doesn't work, or you need some more help, I can go through it for you if ya want, just PM me


    Hope that helps
    Luke
    Luke-Martin.com (work in progress) :: Independent Web Designer's Portal
    Freelance Forums :: Sign Up Here
    "What happens if you get scared half to death twice?"

  11. #11
    SitePoint Zealot gloryzone's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    166
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ok, I am working within the template file now and i have another question. How do I create a link without the words changing blue. (I want the color of the letters to stay rust if the mouse is not over it). also, how do I create a link that is outside of the site. (i.e. billpaypro link)?
    looking for an Independent Sales Rep...NeedARep
    Michiana's Premier Online Destination- MichianaOnline
    Michiana's Premier Auction Site- AuctionMichiana

  12. #12
    Fully Qualified Fool :) luke-innovative's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Kent, UK
    Posts
    256
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    For the first question, about the links, you will haev to use CSS styles, this can be done in Dreamweaver. If you're still stuck just search for a similar question on sitepointforums and you will get an answer.

    To link otside of the site ya just add "http://www.the-site.com" or whatever in the link part of the options dialogue.
    So you will have a link looking like this:

    Code:
    <a href="http://www.innovative-webdesign.co.uk">ClickMe</a>

    Hope that helps
    Last edited by luke-innovative; Aug 7, 2002 at 15:59.
    Luke
    Luke-Martin.com (work in progress) :: Independent Web Designer's Portal
    Freelance Forums :: Sign Up Here
    "What happens if you get scared half to death twice?"


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •