SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    345
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    drop down menu, slideup not working...

    I know the SlideUp problem I have is written in Jquery, but I'm wondering now if it is my CSS?

    I have double checked it and even copied someone else's code, so I'm thinknig it's not the jq.

    here is the link, go to the products button.

    http://facetofacetutoring.com/navtest/ogs_nav.html

  2. #2
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,564
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It takes a second but it does indeed dropdown for me, which browser are you using?
    Twitter-@Ryan_Reese09
    http://www.ryanreese.us -Always looking for web design/development work

  3. #3
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    345
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The slideUp portion is not working.

    When you hover over products, yes it slides down like it's suppose to, but when you move your cursor off of it everything messes up, it's pretty easy to tell.

  4. #4
    Ripe Tomatos silver trophybronze trophy Rayzur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    4,174
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Wow that is messed up. Hover on the first item in the dropdown then move your cursor off to the left and the last link (Contact) in the main list pops up.

    Scripting should just enhance the page and not leave it in a non working state if is disabled. Your menu is using display:none; to hide the sub ul which makes it keyboard tabbing impossible. When your js is disabled your dropdown stops working too.

    I would look into to using something like Superfish that is built off of a pure css dropdown then enhanced with js for visual effects.

  5. #5
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,564
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ah I see it, as Ray said this is not hte CSS's fault, but rather teh JS (though you're CSS neds to be worked on a bit to not use display:none to hide)


    Superfish is quite good
    Twitter-@Ryan_Reese09
    http://www.ryanreese.us -Always looking for web design/development work

  6. #6
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    345
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Okay I can change the display:none easily.

    But I got the drop down working before I even used the JS.

    I got the menu to drop, and I wanted the JS to slide the menu up and down. So my CSS was working to soley drop the menu down.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    345
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by RyanReese View Post
    (though you're CSS neds to be worked on a bit to not use display:none to hide)
    so instead of display:none;

    I'd do like a left:-9999px; kind of thing?

  8. #8
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,564
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You should try and hide it via margin-left:-999em or something, and then bring it back via margin-left:0

    It's slightly more stable in iE
    Twitter-@Ryan_Reese09
    http://www.ryanreese.us -Always looking for web design/development work


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •