SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Using URL links in Access Database??

    I have a table of products in Access and I want to have an (i) Info button that the client can click to open a pop-up browser window with info about that product in.

    How can I make each (i) button open only the data relating to that product?? i.e. I need to allocate a URL link to each product where a URL Query will be passed. I've tried a couple of times making a text field 'LINK' in Access, but when I view the page, I get errors.

    Does this make sense??? Sorry, I'm kinda new to this!

    Thanks for any help,

    Paul.
    Help Me - I'm a newb!

  2. #2
    SitePoint Guru Husain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    620
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    So is the additional information about the products you want to show in another window also in the database?

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes, the products description and path to an image is stored in the Access database.
    Help Me - I'm a newb!

  4. #4
    Prolific Blogger silver trophy Technosailor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Before These Crowded Streets
    Posts
    9,446
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    you need to query Access to get those ID's and the links BEFORE the user can even click on the (i). Once you have that info, you can echo it back and create the links. But first things first.

    Sketch
    Aaron Brazell
    Technosailor



  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sketch, could you explain a little please - how would I query that first??

    Thanks for any help you can give!

    Paul
    Help Me - I'm a newb!

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Wink

    Is this what you're looking for?


    I'm not sure how to attach this to a button but you can also attach it to dynamic text.

    Let's say you want to make the dynamic word Link have a link attached to it and it's ID (based on the database)


    Well, the word link would actually look like something like this:
    <%=MyRecordSet("Link_Field)%> right? cool. then in order to attach the same recordset's ID to it simply do this
    <%=MyRecordSet("Link_Field)%>?id=<%MyRecordSet("ID")%>


    ------------------
    Then on the results page, yours SQL should say something like
    "Select * from my table where id="<%RS("ID")%>

    I usually let Dreamweaver MX do the coding part.
    "A Successful man is one who can build a firm foundation with the bricks that others throw at him"


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •