SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question BYO WordPress Themes - problem with footer

    Chapter 5 - pages 108-111 - modifying the footer

    I can't seem to make the wp_list_pages work. I've followed the examples very carefully, and have also activated the downloaded code samples for the chapter. In none of the cases do I see the list of pages in the footer.

    Am I missing something in some of the WordPress administrative functions? Any other possibilities?

    I'm using a WAMP server on my computer with the latest version of WordPress 3.0.1.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Red face

    The problems with the files were
    because I had gone to "Settings --> Reading" , and checked
    "Front page displays"
    "A static page (select below):

    Front page: about" (or "home" or whatever)

    and not setting

    "Posts page: News" (or "Blog" or whatever ...)

    It also worked when I chose:

    "Front page displays:

    Your latest posts"

    Details! Details!

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    None of those fixes worked for me. As a matter of fact, when in the Settings Reading section, Post don't show in the dropdown menu, pages do. What gives?!

    I too am having problems with the footer. I have going over this section over and over trying to see if I missed something and I don't believe I have. I'm about to pull my hair out!

    Any help would greatly be appreciated.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think the book needs some editing and some corrections!


    Here's another thread that might help:

    subject: WordPress code error call to thematic_abovecontent()

    Here are the portions that might help:
    --------------------------------------------------------------
    charles i:
    In the Advanced Theme Construction chapter the book says to copy the index.php file and rename it as home.php - the example in the book and the code in the download includes this function call in home.php <?php thematic_abovecontent(); ?> - this function call is not in index.php and there is no function thematic_abovecontent() in the functions.php file so the home page shows a PHP error. If I'm correct this line should be removed from home.php <?php thematic_abovecontent(); ?>.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------
    algisk:
    I deleted lines 13 and 47 from home.php.

    line 13: <?php thematic_abovecontent(); ?>

    line 47: <?php thematic_belowcontent(); ?>

    It then worked fine.

    My previous problems with the files were
    because I had gone to "Settings --> Reading , and checked "Front page displays" -- "a static page (select below):

    Front page: about"

    and not setting

    "Posts page: "

    Details! Details!
    ------------------------------------------


    Good luck!

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I saw this but that doesn't do it for me either.
    Just for clarity, Let's make sure my file structure is correct. The following should be in my new themes folder:

    home.php
    footer-homepage.php
    functions.php

    thanks in advance...

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Also, is there some special setting that I need to make to posts or pages for them to show up as links in the footer?

    Do in need to set up the menu under Appearance---> Menus?

    This is sOOO frustrating!

  7. #7
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok, I have done some investigating and I found out that on my home.php file, even though it's supposed to call out to the footer-homepage.php file and use it, goes to footer.php instead.

    How do I know this? I went into tthe footer-homepage fie and removed "thematic_footer();"
    and nothing happened. I did the same thing in the footer.php file and the footer disappeared on the homepage. Any suggestions?

  8. #8
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    OK. I finally got it to work!
    I cannot stress enough how important it is to go over your code and make sure there are no typing errors. I was missing an "e" in homepage (looked like hompage) in my call function and it would not call out as a result.Working good now!


Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •