SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast open4biz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    87
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Footer Not Clearing Content in Mozilla 3.6.8 (Latest)

    Hi All,

    I just noticed a bug in one of our development pages:

    http://aswdemo7.htoademos.com/welcome.asp

    If you use the search boxes on the left, and select:

    United States > California > All Areas > Nov 2010

    (There will also be a broken image during the search process... we are aware of that and our programmer is fixing it)

    You will see that for whatever reason, the footer is not clearing the two content columns even though it has a clear:left tag (and the two content columns have float:left in their CSS properties).

    Any idea why this is occurring only in the latest Mozilla? It clears fine in IE8, IE7, the latest Chrome, and Safari.

    A thank you for any help, in advance.

    Ansel

  2. #2
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    122
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Both your contentwrapper and leftcol have an inline height set(e.g., <div id="leftcolumn" style="height: 419px;">). In Firefox, it seems to stay the original height from the page load before the search results are shown. Looks like the container/column heights don't get recalculated after the search loads in FF.
    "The browser is your first client" - Quote: Myself
    Please visit me at: vanillacloud.com

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast open4biz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    87
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I saw that. Thank you for confirming that is the issue. I have notified our programmer so it can be corrected.

    Thanks again )

    Ansel

  4. #4
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    40,549
    Mentioned
    183 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Instead of using an equal column script (which slows the page down) you could use the faux column technique and repeat an image on your #contentwrapper to produce the full column effect. You wouldn't then have to call the equal column script after every search.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast open4biz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    87
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by melissapbr View Post
    Both your contentwrapper and leftcol have an inline height set(e.g., <div id="leftcolumn" style="height: 419px;">). In Firefox, it seems to stay the original height from the page load before the search results are shown. Looks like the container/column heights don't get recalculated after the search loads in FF.
    Upon further review, it is only in Firefox that the inline elements show. They don't exist is other browsers. In fact, it is only displaying like that in Firebug.

    The problem persists.

    Any other ideas why the page is hiccuping in Firefox?

  6. #6
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    122
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I also see this using IE Developer toolbar in IE 8. Plus right-clicking in Chrome and doing an "inspect element", it also shows up.
    "The browser is your first client" - Quote: Myself
    Please visit me at: vanillacloud.com

  7. #7
    SitePoint Enthusiast open4biz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    87
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by melissapbr View Post
    I also see this using IE Developer toolbar in IE 8. Plus right-clicking in Chrome and doing an "inspect element", it also shows up.
    Hi Melissa,

    I found the problem, thanks to your help. It would seem our programmer forgot he was using a DynamicDrive.com script called equalcolumns.js and it was sending inline style height tags to those columns.

    Thanks again - you rock!

    Ansel

  8. #8
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    40,549
    Mentioned
    183 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by open4biz View Post

    I found the problem, thanks to your help. It would seem our programmer forgot he was using a DynamicDrive.com script called equalcolumns.js
    If you read my answer in post #4 I already mentioned that the problem was the equal column script

  9. #9
    SitePoint Enthusiast open4biz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    87
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul O'B View Post
    If you read my answer in post #4 I already mentioned that the problem was the equal column script
    Hi Paul,

    Sorry, my understanding of what you meant was non-linear to when I discovered the issue. A credit to you, too.

    Thanks again,

    Ansel

  10. #10
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    40,549
    Mentioned
    183 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    No Problems - on re-reading what I posted I should have made it a bit clearer anyway


Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •