SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 51 to 75 of 83
  1. #51
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    390
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yes like that it updates

  2. #52
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    390
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    so why it doesnt update from the form??

  3. #53
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    31
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by macaela View Post
    so why it doesnt update form the form??
    Seems like it doesn't like one of the values you're putting into the database. Try adding them one at a time and see which one breaks it. Then have a look at that one to see why it is breaking. Does it contain slashes? Does it have quotes? Should it have quotes? etc.

  4. #54
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    390
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ok i will do one by one and see what happens??

  5. #55
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    390
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    no luck already just having like this doenst work
    PHP Code:
    $query "UPDATE driversnew SET name = '$name' WHERE id = '$id'";

    $result mysql_query("SELECT * FROM driversnew WHERE id = '$id'"); 
    could that have to with this part
    PHP Code:
     $name $_POST['name']; 
    or the form that is sending the cz is like this
    PHP Code:
    <form action = 'modifydriveraction.php?drivers=<?php echo $row['id']; ?>' method="POST" enctype="multipart/form-data">
    could be somethng wher should be GET instead of POST or something???
    i have another update form that works fine but i havent include the upload part on it shall i see what happen with that?? when i add the upload part??

  6. #56
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    31
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rather than change the variable from $_POST['id'] to $_GET['id'] do this instead:

    Change this
    PHP Code:
    <form action = 'modifydriveraction.php?drivers=<?php echo $row['id']; ?>' method="POST" enctype="multipart/form-data">
    to this
    PHP Code:
    <form action 'modifydriveraction.php' method="POST" enctype="multipart/form-data"
    and add this to your form input fields
    PHP Code:
    <input name="id" value="<?=$row['id']?>" type="hidden" />
    This will pass the id as a $_POST variable which should work for you.

  7. #57
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    390
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Nope didnt work!! ok i have a clean update form for the same table that works fine but on this one it doesnt have the upload script part i'm even scare to put the upload part so it doenst mess it up can i post both seperate and put them together so u'll know at least where i went wrong with this one??

  8. #58
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    31
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes no problem.

  9. #59
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    390
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks this is the updateaction.php script and the updateform.php which both together do the update fine and the last one is the upload that i want to insert on the updateaction.php

    updateform.php
    PHP Code:
    <?php
    define
    ('ROOT_DIR''./');
    define('THIS_SCRIPT''news');
    define('PROPER'TRUE);
    /**
    * include common files
    */
    include_once(ROOT_DIR'includes/common.inc.php');

    ?>

    <?php 

    // query to get records 
        
    $id $_GET['id'] ;


    // create query to delete record 

    $query "SELECT  id, name,    location, date_of_birth, car_number, favourite_track, least_favourite_track, achievements, sponsors, email,    image FROM driversnew WHERE id = '$id' ";
    //Run the query
    $result mysql_query($query);

    //see if any rows were returned 
    if (mysql_num_rows($result) > 0) {  // yes - Display Form
      
    $row mysql_fetch_array($result); //Fetch the row
      
      //Display the form with original values 
    ?>        
      <form action = 'modifydriveraction.php' method="GET"  enctype="multipart/form-data">
      <p>ID: <input  readonly="yes" name="id" type="text" value=<?php print $row["id"?> size="5" >
      This has been made 'readonly' as cannot amend key field </p>
       <p>name: <input type="text" cols="40" rows="1" name="name" value=<?php print $row["name"?> ></p>
       <p>location: <input type="text" name="location" value=<?php print $row["location"?> ></p>
       <p>DoB: <input type="text" name="date_of_birth" value=<?php print $row["date_of_birth"?> ></p>
         <p>Car N: <input type="text" cols="40" rows="1" name="car_number" value=<?php print $row["car_number"?> ></p>
       <p>FavTr: <input type="text" name="favourite_track" value=<?php print $row["favourite_track"?> ></p>
       <p>LeastFavTr: <input type="text" name="least_favourite_track" value=<?php print $row["least_favourite_track"?> ></p>
         <p>Achiev: <input type="text" cols="40" rows="1" name="achievements" value=<?php print $row["achievements"?> ></p>
       <p>Sponsor: <input type="text" name="sponsors" value=<?php print $row["sponsors"?> ></p>
        <p>Email: <input type="text" cols="40" rows="1" name="email" value=<?php print $row["email"?> ></p>
          <p>image: <input type="file" name="image" value=<?php print $row["image"?> ></p>
          <?php echo '<td><img class="picture" src="images/' $row['image'] . ' " width="120"  height="120 " /></td> '?>


        <p><input type="submit" value="Submit" name="Update" > </p>
      </form>        
    <?php         
     
    //End if rows returned
       //No rows returned
       
    else  print "No records were found";
    ?> 
    </body> 
    </html>
    updateaction.php
    PHP Code:
    <?php
    define
    ('ROOT_DIR''./');
    define('THIS_SCRIPT''news');
    define('PROPER'TRUE);
    /**
    * include common files
    */
    include_once(ROOT_DIR'includes/common.inc.php');

        
    $id $_GET['id']; 
        
    $name $_GET['name'];
        
    $location $_GET['location'];
        
    $date_of_birth $_GET['date_of_birth'];
        
    $car_number $_GET['car_number'];
        
    $favourite_track $_GET['favourite_track'];
        
    $least_favourite_track $_GET['least_favourite_track'];
        
    $achievements $_GET['achievements'];
        
    $sponsors $_GET['sponsors'];    
        
    $email $_GET['email'];    
        
    $image  $_GET['image'];

        
    $query "UPDATE driversnew SET name = '$name', location = '$location', date_of_birth='$date_of_birth', car_number='$car_number', favourite_track='$favourite_track', least_favourite_track='$least_favourite_track', achievements='$achievements', sponsors='$sponsors', email='$email', image='$image' WHERE id = '$id'";


    mysql_query($query) or die(mysql_error()); 
    // execute query 
     
    $result mysql_query($query) ;
     
    //if there was a problem - get the error message and go back 
     
    if (!$result)
      {
         echo 
    "There were errors :<br>"mysql_error();
      } 
      else 
    //OK, then the insertion was successful
      
      
    {
        
    print 
    "<p>The following records has been updated:  </p>";

        
    //Create a new query to display the new row in a table
        
    $query "SELECT id, name, location, date_of_birth, car_number, favourite_track, least_favourite_track, achievements, sponsors, email, image FROM driversnew WHERE id = '$id' ";    $result mysql_query($query) or die ("Error in query: $query. ".mysql_error()); 
        echo 
    "<table cellpadding=10 border=1>";  
        while(
    $row mysql_fetch_array($result)) { 
              echo 
    "<tr>"
         echo 
    "<td>".$row["id"]."</td>";
         echo 
    "<td><strong>" .$row["name"]."</strong></td>";
         echo 
    "<td><strong>".$row["location"]."</strong></td>"
         echo 
    "<td><strong>" .$row["date_of_birth"]."</strong></td>";
         echo 
    "<td><strong>".$row["car_number"]."</strong></td>";
         echo 
    "<td><strong>" .$row["favourite_track"]."</strong></td>";
         echo 
    "<td><strong>".$row["least_favourite_track"]."</strong></td>"
         echo 
    "<td><strong>" .$row["achievements"]."</strong></td>";
         echo 
    "<td><strong>".$row["sponsors"]."</strong></td>";
         echo 
    "<td><strong>" .$row["email"]."</strong></td>";
         echo 
    "<td><strong>".$row["image"]."</strong></td>"
         echo 
    "</tr>"
        } 
    //End while
        
    echo "</table>"
       } 
    //End Else insertion successful
    //End else successful Amendment     

    ?>
    and this is the upload script which also work fine with its own form

    uploadaction.php

    PHP Code:
    <?php
    define
    ('ROOT_DIR''./');
    define('THIS_SCRIPT''news');
    define('PROPER'TRUE);
    /**
    * include common files
    */
    include_once(ROOT_DIR'includes/common.inc.php');

    //define a maxim size for the uploaded images
    define ("MAX_SIZE","100");
    // define the width and height for the thumbnail
    // note that theese dimmensions are considered the maximum dimmension and are not fixed,
    // because we have to keep the image ratio intact or it will be deformed
    define ("WIDTH","150");
    define ("HEIGHT","100");

    // this is the function that will create the thumbnail image from the uploaded image
    // the resize will be done considering the width and height defined, but without deforming the image
    function make_thumb($img_name,$filename,$new_w,$new_h)
    {
    //get image extension.
    $ext=getExtension($img_name);
    //creates the new image using the appropriate function from gd library
    if(!strcmp("jpg",$ext) || !strcmp("jpeg",$ext))
    $src_img=imagecreatefromjpeg($img_name);

    if(!
    strcmp("png",$ext))
    $src_img=imagecreatefrompng($img_name);

    //gets the dimmensions of the image
    $old_x=imageSX($src_img);
    $old_y=imageSY($src_img);

    // next we will calculate the new dimmensions for the thumbnail image
    // the next steps will be taken:
    // 1. calculate the ratio by dividing the old dimmensions with the new ones
    // 2. if the ratio for the width is higher, the width will remain the one define in WIDTH variable
    // and the height will be calculated so the image ratio will not change
    // 3. otherwise we will use the height ratio for the image
    // as a result, only one of the dimmensions will be from the fixed ones
    $ratio1=$old_x/$new_w;
    $ratio2=$old_y/$new_h;
    if(
    $ratio1>$ratio2) {
    $thumb_w=$new_w;
    $thumb_h=$old_y/$ratio1;
    }
    else {
    $thumb_h=$new_h;
    $thumb_w=$old_x/$ratio2;
    }

    // we create a new image with the new dimmensions
    $dst_img=ImageCreateTrueColor($thumb_w,$thumb_h);

    // resize the big image to the new created one
    imagecopyresampled($dst_img,$src_img,0,0,0,0,$thumb_w,$thumb_h,$old_x,$old_y);

    // output the created image to the file. Now we will have the thumbnail into the file named by $filename
    if(!strcmp("png",$ext))
    imagepng($dst_img,$filename);
    else
    imagejpeg($dst_img,$filename);

    //destroys source and destination images.
    imagedestroy($dst_img);
    imagedestroy($src_img);
    }

    // This function reads the extension of the file.
    // It is used to determine if the file is an image by checking the extension.
    function getExtension($str) {
    $i strrpos($str,".");
    if (!
    $i) { return ""; }
    $l strlen($str) - $i;
    $ext substr($str,$i+1,$l);
    return 
    $ext;
    }

    // This variable is used as a flag. The value is initialized with 0 (meaning no error found)
    //and it will be changed to 1 if an errro occures. If the error occures the file will not be uploaded.
    $errors=0;
    // checks if the form has been submitted
    if(isset($_POST['Submit']))
    {
    //reads the name of the file the user submitted for uploading
    $image=$_FILES['image']['name'];
    // if it is not empty
    if ($image)
    {
    // get the original name of the file from the clients machine
    $filename stripslashes($_FILES['image']['name']);

    // get the extension of the file in a lower case format
    $extension getExtension($filename);
    $extension strtolower($extension);
    // if it is not a known extension, we will suppose it is an error, print an error message
    //and will not upload the file, otherwise we continue
    if (($extension != "jpg") && ($extension != "jpeg") && ($extension != "png"))
    {
    echo 
    '<h1>Unknown extension!</h1>';
    $errors=1;
    }
    else
    {
    // get the size of the image in bytes
    // $_FILES[\'image\'][\'tmp_name\'] is the temporary filename of the file in which the uploaded file was stored on the server
    $size=getimagesize($_FILES['image']['tmp_name']);
    $sizekb=filesize($_FILES['image']['tmp_name']);

    //compare the size with the maxim size we defined and print error if bigger
    if ($sizekb MAX_SIZE*2024)
    {
    echo 
    '<h1>You have exceeded the size limit!</h1>';
    $errors=1;
    }

    //we will give an unique name, for example the time in unix time format
    $image_name=time().'.'.$extension;
    //the new name will be containing the full path where will be stored (images folder)
    $newname="images/".$image_name;
    $copied copy($_FILES['image']['tmp_name'], $newname);
    //we verify if the image has been uploaded, and print error instead
    if (!$copied)
    {
    echo 
    '<h1>Copy unsuccessfull!</h1>';
    $errors=1;
    }
    else
    {
    // the new thumbnail image will be placed in images/thumbs/ folder
    $thumb_name='images/thumbs/'.$image_name;
    // call the function that will create the thumbnail. The function will get as parameters
    //the image name, the thumbnail name and the width and height desired for the thumbnail
    $thumb=make_thumb($newname,$thumb_name,WIDTH,HEIGHT);
    }} }}

    //If no errors registred, print the success message and show the thumbnail image created
    if(isset($_POST['Submit']) && !$errors)
    {



    mysql_query("INSERT INTO driversnew (id, name, location, date_of_birth, car_number,
       favourite_track, least_favourite_track, achievements, sponsors, email, image)
    VALUES ('
    $_POST[id]', '$_POST[name]', '$_POST[location]','$_POST[date_of_birth]', '$_POST[car_number]','$_POST[favourite_track]', '$_POST[least_favourite_track]','$_POST[achievements]', '$_POST[sponsors]','$_POST[email]', '$image_name')");




    echo 
    "<h1>Thumbnail created Successfully!</h1>";
    echo 
    '<img src="'.$thumb_name.'">';
    echo 
    ''.$newname.'';
    }

    ?>

  10. #60
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    390
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ohh and what i am trying to achive is a form where the user can update from the form that includes replace image frm the directory and the name

  11. #61
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    31
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you are using that form then it won't work because you have mixed your $_GET and $_POST variables up. With the working versions you have used $_GET to update the database where in the broken version, you are using $_POST. If you change all $_GET and $_POST variables you have used to $_REQUEST it shouldn't matter how you send your form. Let me know if this works.

  12. #62
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    390
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    didnt understood that??

  13. #63
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    390
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    so on the old one that is not working change all these $_POST to $_REQUEST ??

    PHP Code:
    $id $_POST['id'] ;
        
    $name $_POST['name'];
        
    $location $_POST['location'];
        
    $date_of_birth $_POST['date_of_birth'];
        
    $car_number $_POST['car_number'];
        
    $favourite_track $_POST['favourite_track'];
        
    $least_favourite_track $_POST['least_favourite_track'];
        
    $achievements $_POST['achievements'];
        
    $sponsors $_POST['sponsors'];    
        
    $email $_POST['email'];    
        
    $image_name $_FILES['image_name']; 

  14. #64
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    31
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Okay, in your form you have used method="get". This means that when you have processed your form you have used $_GET['id'], $_GET['name'] and so on. However, when you have merged all your code together, for some reason you started using $_POST['id'], $_POST['name']. Because you have used method="get" there are no $_POST variables. To demonstrate, on the broken code add these lines.

    PHP Code:
    echo 'GET VARIABLES:';
    echo 
    '<pre>';
    var_dump($_GET);
    echo 
    '</pre><br /><hr /><br />';

    echo 
    'POST VARIABLES:';
    echo 
    '<pre>';
    var_dump($_POST);
    echo 
    '</pre><br /><hr /><br />';

    echo 
    'REQUEST VARIABLES:';
    echo 
    '<pre>';
    var_dump($_REQUEST);
    echo 
    '</pre><br /><hr /><br />'
    From here you should see (if I'm right) values for the $_GET array, nothing for the $_POST array and values for the $_REQUEST array. What you need to do is change all your $_POST variables to $_GET if that is what your form method is, or you could change all $_GET and $_POST references to $_REQUEST which pulls in all values for both arrays.

  15. #65
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    390
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ok i gt the update to work but now the only problem is it doesnt upload the image into the directory any idea


    PHP Code:
    <?php
    define
    ('ROOT_DIR''./');
    define('THIS_SCRIPT''news');
    define('PROPER'TRUE);
    /**
    * include common files
    */
    include_once(ROOT_DIR'includes/common.inc.php');

        
    $id $_GET['id']; 
        
    $name $_GET['name'];
        
    $location $_GET['location'];
        
    $date_of_birth $_GET['date_of_birth'];
        
    $car_number $_GET['car_number'];
        
    $favourite_track $_GET['favourite_track'];
        
    $least_favourite_track $_GET['least_favourite_track'];
        
    $achievements $_GET['achievements'];
        
    $sponsors $_GET['sponsors'];    
        
    $email $_GET['email'];    
        
    $image  $_GET['image'];

        
    $query "UPDATE driversnew SET name = '$name', location = '$location', date_of_birth='$date_of_birth', car_number='$car_number', favourite_track='$favourite_track', least_favourite_track='$least_favourite_track', achievements='$achievements', sponsors='$sponsors', email='$email', image='$image' WHERE id = '$id'";


    mysql_query($query) or die(mysql_error()); 
    // execute query 
     
    $result mysql_query($query) ;
     
    //if there was a problem - get the error message and go back 
     
    if (!$result)
      {
         echo 
    "There were errors :<br>"mysql_error();
      } 
      else 
    //OK, then the insertion was successful
      
      
    {
        
    print 
    "<p>The following records has been updated:  </p>";

        
    //Create a new query to display the new row in a table
        
    $query "SELECT id, name, location, date_of_birth, car_number, favourite_track, least_favourite_track, achievements, sponsors, email, image FROM driversnew WHERE id = '$id' ";    $result mysql_query($query) or die ("Error in query: $query. ".mysql_error()); 
        echo 
    "<table cellpadding=10 border=1>";  
        while(
    $row mysql_fetch_array($result)) { 
              echo 
    "<tr>"
         echo 
    "<td>".$row["id"]."</td>";
         echo 
    "<td><strong>" .$row["name"]."</strong></td>";
         echo 
    "<td><strong>".$row["location"]."</strong></td>"
         echo 
    "<td><strong>" .$row["date_of_birth"]."</strong></td>";
         echo 
    "<td><strong>".$row["car_number"]."</strong></td>";
         echo 
    "<td><strong>" .$row["favourite_track"]."</strong></td>";
         echo 
    "<td><strong>".$row["least_favourite_track"]."</strong></td>"
         echo 
    "<td><strong>" .$row["achievements"]."</strong></td>";
         echo 
    "<td><strong>".$row["sponsors"]."</strong></td>";
         echo 
    "<td><strong>" .$row["email"]."</strong></td>";
         echo 
    "<td><strong>".$row["image"]."</strong></td>"
         echo 
    "</tr>"
        } 
    //End while
        
    echo "</table>"
        
        
    /// start uploading process
        
    define ("MAX_SIZE","100");
    // define the width and height for the thumbnail
    // note that theese dimmensions are considered the maximum dimmension and are not fixed,
    // because we have to keep the image ratio intact or it will be deformed
    define ("WIDTH","150");
    define ("HEIGHT","100");

    // this is the function that will create the thumbnail image from the uploaded image
    // the resize will be done considering the width and height defined, but without deforming the image
    function make_thumb($img_name,$filename,$new_w,$new_h)
    {
    //get image extension.
    $ext=getExtension($img_name);
    //creates the new image using the appropriate function from gd library
    if(!strcmp("jpg",$ext) || !strcmp("jpeg",$ext))
    $src_img=imagecreatefromjpeg($img_name);

    if(!
    strcmp("png",$ext))
    $src_img=imagecreatefrompng($img_name);

    //gets the dimmensions of the image
    $old_x=imageSX($src_img);
    $old_y=imageSY($src_img);

    // next we will calculate the new dimmensions for the thumbnail image
    // the next steps will be taken:
    // 1. calculate the ratio by dividing the old dimmensions with the new ones
    // 2. if the ratio for the width is higher, the width will remain the one define in WIDTH variable
    // and the height will be calculated so the image ratio will not change
    // 3. otherwise we will use the height ratio for the image
    // as a result, only one of the dimmensions will be from the fixed ones
    $ratio1=$old_x/$new_w;
    $ratio2=$old_y/$new_h;
    if(
    $ratio1>$ratio2) {
    $thumb_w=$new_w;
    $thumb_h=$old_y/$ratio1;
    }
    else {
    $thumb_h=$new_h;
    $thumb_w=$old_x/$ratio2;
    }

    // we create a new image with the new dimmensions
    $dst_img=ImageCreateTrueColor($thumb_w,$thumb_h);

    // resize the big image to the new created one
    imagecopyresampled($dst_img,$src_img,0,0,0,0,$thumb_w,$thumb_h,$old_x,$old_y);

    // output the created image to the file. Now we will have the thumbnail into the file named by $filename
    if(!strcmp("png",$ext))
    imagepng($dst_img,$filename);
    else
    imagejpeg($dst_img,$filename);

    //destroys source and destination images.
    imagedestroy($dst_img);
    imagedestroy($src_img);
    }

    // This function reads the extension of the file.
    // It is used to determine if the file is an image by checking the extension.
    function getExtension($str) {
    $i strrpos($str,".");
    if (!
    $i) { return ""; }
    $l strlen($str) - $i;
    $ext substr($str,$i+1,$l);
    return 
    $ext;
    }

    // This variable is used as a flag. The value is initialized with 0 (meaning no error found)
    //and it will be changed to 1 if an errro occures. If the error occures the file will not be uploaded.
    $errors=0;
    // checks if the form has been submitted
    if(isset($_POST['Submit']))
    {
    //reads the name of the file the user submitted for uploading
    $image=$_FILES['image']['name'];
    // if it is not empty
    if ($image)
    {
    // get the original name of the file from the clients machine
    $filename stripslashes($_FILES['image']['name']);

    // get the extension of the file in a lower case format
    $extension getExtension($filename);
    $extension strtolower($extension);
    // if it is not a known extension, we will suppose it is an error, print an error message
    //and will not upload the file, otherwise we continue
    if (($extension != "jpg") && ($extension != "jpeg") && ($extension != "png"))
    {
    echo 
    '<h1>Unknown extension!</h1>';
    $errors=1;
    }
    else
    {
    // get the size of the image in bytes
    // $_FILES[\'image\'][\'tmp_name\'] is the temporary filename of the file in which the uploaded file was stored on the server
    $size=getimagesize($_FILES['image']['tmp_name']);
    $sizekb=filesize($_FILES['image']['tmp_name']);

    //compare the size with the maxim size we defined and print error if bigger
    if ($sizekb MAX_SIZE*2024)
    {
    echo 
    '<h1>You have exceeded the size limit!</h1>';
    $errors=1;
    }

    //we will give an unique name, for example the time in unix time format
    $image_name=time().'.'.$extension;
    //the new name will be containing the full path where will be stored (images folder)
    $newname="images/".$image_name;
    $copied copy($_FILES['image']['tmp_name'], $newname);
    //we verify if the image has been uploaded, and print error instead
    if (!$copied)
    {
    echo 
    '<h1>Copy unsuccessfull!</h1>';
    $errors=1;
    }
    else
    {
    // the new thumbnail image will be placed in images/thumbs/ folder
    $thumb_name='images/thumbs/'.$image_name;
    // call the function that will create the thumbnail. The function will get as parameters
    //the image name, the thumbnail name and the width and height desired for the thumbnail
    $thumb=make_thumb($newname,$thumb_name,WIDTH,HEIGHT);
    }} }}
        
        
       } 
    //End Else insertion successful
    //End else successful Amendment     

    ?>

  16. #66
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    31
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The code I had did upload an image so the issue is either file paths not being correct, the directory not existing in which case you need to make the directory, or directory permissions not allowing you to write to the directory. If you check these each of these, you should find your problem.

  17. #67
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    390
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    do u mean the code u had u mean the upload code u tried separately and worked if so yeah it works with a different form but if u mean it work with the update form which one is it can u sen it again??

  18. #68
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    390
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ohh ok sorry i'm in the uk too thanks for the help

  19. #69
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    31
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sorry wasn't expecting a reply that quick. One sec

  20. #70
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    31
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You still have the lines
    PHP Code:
    if(isset($_POST
    on your upload form. Change these as well.

  21. #71
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    390
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    to _GET last question fo rthe night sorry

  22. #72
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    31
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes.

  23. #73
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    390
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ok i finaly manage to get the form to update bt one foul if user doesnt send a new image the form will empty the previous is like it as long it press submit it send data empty if no new image uploaded how can i make so like if user doesnt modify the image to keep same image name on the database???

  24. #74
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    31
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by macaela View Post
    ok i finaly manage to get the form to update bt one foul if user doesnt send a new image the form will empty the previous is like it as long it press submit it send data empty if no new image uploaded how can i make so like if user doesnt modify the image to keep same image name on the database???
    Morning

    You just need to put an if statement to check for the $_FILES array and then adjust your UPDATE statement:

    PHP Code:
    $query "UPDATE driversnew SET name = '$name', location = '$location', date_of_birth='$date_of_birth', car_number='$car_number', favourite_track='$favourite_track', least_favourite_track='$least_favourite_track', achievements='$achievements', sponsors='$sponsors', email='$email'";

    if(
    $_FILES['error'] === 0){
       
    $query .= ", image='$image'";
    }

    $query .= " WHERE id = '$id'"

    mysql_query($query) or die(mysql_error()); 

  25. #75
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    390
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi good afternnon now can u explain me a lil more about that line
    PHP Code:
    if($_FILES['error'] === 0){
       
    $query .= ", image='$image'"
    what does it mean cz i knw the double equals sign but 3 what are u trying to what i thinking is if no files do something but whats the error means??


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •