SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    154
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Looking for Dreamweaver CS3 Download

    Could someone here help?
    I have a somewhat outdated computer and I'm running a copy of Dreamweaver 8.
    I don't have any plans for another computer anytime soon but I'd like to see how Dreamweaver CS3 runs so I've been looking for a download of the trial version.
    I can't find anywhere that has the trial version. Everything points to Adobe and the latest and greatest version of Dreamweaver, which I have tried and runs very sluggish on my machine.
    So if anyone knows of a site that has the trial version for download I sure would appreciate it.

  2. #2
    From Italy with love silver trophybronze trophy
    guido2004's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    9,494
    Mentioned
    161 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)
    Did you try asking Adobe?

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophybronze trophy mizwizzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    1,322
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hey Phil,

    I've found this link - completely up to yourself to try it out - I'm in no way associated with this website I've just found it on Google Seems to be a direct download and bypasses the Adobe site - I had a similiar problem myself, couldn't even find it on their FTP!

    Hope it's what you're looking for!

    Hazel

  4. #4
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    154
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mizwizzy View Post
    Hey Phil,

    I've found this link - completely up to yourself to try it out - I'm in no way associated with this website I've just found it on Google Seems to be a direct download and bypasses the Adobe site - I had a similiar problem myself, couldn't even find it on their FTP!

    Hope it's what you're looking for!

    Hazel
    No. That's not it.
    It just goes to a page that says I need to log into my account (even after I do log in), then proceeds to a page with a CS5 link.

    I looked on Google too. Like I said before, everything just points to the latest and greatest on the Adobe site.
    I guess I could contact Adobe.

    I did find a couple of auctions going on on Ebay for CS3. Actually bid all of $35 on one. Figured it's worth a shot.

    Thanks guys for the time.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophybronze trophy mizwizzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    1,322
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hey Phil,

    That's odd they must have changed it because last night I was just prompted for the direct download link - hmm, well here's a definite one that's working right now!

    Best of luck,

    Hazel

  6. #6
    Is Still Alive silver trophybronze trophy RetroNetro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    6,883
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mizwizzy View Post
    Hey Phil,

    That's odd they must have changed it because last night I was just prompted for the direct download link - hmm, well here's a definite one that's working right now!

    Best of luck,

    Hazel
    Here is teh page that link leads to: http://www.adobe.com/support/downloads/dlm/

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophybronze trophy mizwizzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    1,322
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Um, weird... I just get the download dialog box where I simply accept or reject the download! what's going on!

  8. #8
    Robert Wellock silver trophybronze trophy xhtmlcoder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    A Maze of Twisty Little Passages
    Posts
    6,316
    Mentioned
    60 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You probably get differing URL's due to location or browser/scripting combinations on your machines, etc.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophybronze trophy mizwizzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    1,322
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That's quite bizarre really, I hope for the sake of the OP that it will work for him as it is quite difficult to obtain an old trial version of any Adobe products

  10. #10
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    154
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mizwizzy View Post
    That's quite bizarre really, I hope for the sake of the OP that it will work for him as it is quite difficult to obtain an old trial version of any Adobe products
    Yeah, that is pretty weird.

    Oh well, maybe I'll win that Ebay auction. Still 3 days left.

  11. #11
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    154
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok, found a copy of the file (sent by someone).
    But I'm having problems. The trial period will not start.
    It just says I have to enter in the activation code.
    Now I tried out DW CS5 a while back and uninstalled it.
    Could that be the problem?

  12. #12
    Robert Wellock silver trophybronze trophy xhtmlcoder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    A Maze of Twisty Little Passages
    Posts
    6,316
    Mentioned
    60 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Possibly, or it could be time-bombed so you can only start to install it, if you PC system clock/date is within a certain historic date range.

  13. #13
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    154
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by xhtmlcoder View Post
    Possibly, or it could be time-bombed so you can only start to install it, if you PC system clock/date is within a certain historic date range.
    Well that bites!!
    What do you think would happen if I tried to install the full blown version? Would it do the same thing?

  14. #14
    Robert Wellock silver trophybronze trophy xhtmlcoder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    A Maze of Twisty Little Passages
    Posts
    6,316
    Mentioned
    60 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you have the full purchased version you should have a legal serial number (activation code) anyway, so it shouldn't be an issue as it would either overwrite files or disarm the bomb once you input your paid-for Licence key.

  15. #15
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophybronze trophy mizwizzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    1,322
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Aren't the trials full version too? I don't recall any limitations with Adobe trialware, perhaps it's changed since the last time I downloaded any!

  16. #16
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    154
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by xhtmlcoder View Post
    If you have the full purchased version you should have a legal serial number (activation code) anyway, so it shouldn't be an issue as it would either overwrite files or disarm the bomb once you input your paid-for Licence key.
    From what I'm reading, apparently this is [was] a common problem with Adobe Trial software. I've seen a few posts that even after a format, the problem still persists.

    Adobe offers some "Clean-up" Utilities, but I haven't had much success with that either.
    What a bummer. I would hate to shell out $150 on CS3 from Ebay and then find out I can't even run it.

  17. #17
    Robert Wellock silver trophybronze trophy xhtmlcoder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    A Maze of Twisty Little Passages
    Posts
    6,316
    Mentioned
    60 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I cannot possibly see how after a HDD reformat the problem still exists unless they are using illegal techniques. I think you just meant un-install though. I suppose you also have to ask yourself whether you believe the eBay version is legitimate.

  18. #18
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    154
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by xhtmlcoder View Post
    I cannot possibly see how after a HDD reformat the problem still exists unless they are using illegal techniques. I think you just meant un-install though. I suppose you also have to ask yourself whether you believe the eBay version is legitimate.
    I wish I could find the page that clams that Adobe will put files in some special boot sector on your hard drive to keep people from just formating and re-useing, but I can't find it again.
    I will say I've read a few instances from forums of people that say that re-formatting didn't remove the trial limitations from various Adobe products.

    I'm not saying that is what causing my problem, but I will say that what I'm experiencing is not at all uncommon and I can't find a definitive solution.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •