SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 22 of 22
  1. #1
    eCommerce specialist hotnuts21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Aberystwyth, UK
    Posts
    1,355
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Win XP adds code to your coded pages!!!

    I was browsing around another forum, and I found this thread. I have copied the thread and am pasting it here, I could not contact the writer so if he is here, then I apologise.

    Anyway this is worth knowing, and quite interesting.

    The post
    "Can somebody shed some light on this unwelcommed intrusion by Microsoft. I recently upgraded to XP. I noticed that when I opened my html files for editing, there were additional codes added to my html such as:
    <meta name="Microsoft Themes" content="network 011, default"> and <!--mstheme-->

    The worst insult was when it replace my body background gif with another! In place of my background graphics it addded:
    <Body background="../../_themes/network/netbkgnd.gif"

    I have been building my codes using Dreamweaver and I have not been using any Microsoft themes in any of my html...so how is it Microsoft is able to alter my html and when did it do it!!!

    This is weird agreed
    Search & Rescue Aberystwyth Lifeboat
    CSS Tutorials/Guides

    Sitepoint signatures are not visible to Search Engines More info

  2. #2
    Blissed off
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    422
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Doesn't happen to me using Dreamweaver MX and Windows XP pro...

  3. #3
    Your Lord and Master, Foamy gold trophy Hierophant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Lancaster, Ca. USA
    Posts
    12,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Doesn't happen to me except in Frontpage under Windows XP. I don't use Dreamweaver but do use a variety of other programs...
    Wayne Luke
    ------------


  4. #4
    Super Ninja Monkey Travis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Sioux City, Iowa
    Posts
    691
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Windows uses HTML pages for Windows Explorer and My Computer and all that good stuff so maybe when you upgraded XP thought your HTML pages were to customize a folder and upgraded their HTML to Windows XP stuff.
    Travis Watkins - Hyperactive Coder
    My Blog: Realist Anew
    Projects: Alacarte - Gnome Menu Editor

  5. #5
    Your Lord and Master, Foamy gold trophy Hierophant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Lancaster, Ca. USA
    Posts
    12,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Could be... However, I have 40,000 HTML and script pages pages stored on my computer and Windows didn't touch a single one of them during the upgrade from Windows 98se to Windows XP.
    Wayne Luke
    ------------


  6. #6
    Currently Occupied; Till Sunda Andrew-J2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,475
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thats odd, anyway microsoft always seems to go wrong.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard geiger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    2,459
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Is it just a cached image/file?

  8. #8
    Wanna-be Apple nut silver trophy M. Johansson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Halmstad, Sweden
    Posts
    7,400
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I smell scumware.
    Mattias Johansson
    Short, Swedish, Web Developer

    Buttons and Dog Tags with your custom design:
    FatStatement.com

  9. #9
    eCommerce specialist hotnuts21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Aberystwyth, UK
    Posts
    1,355
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Geiger, dont know!!

    As i said earlier, I only saw the problem on another site and thought it was interesting, so I posted it here. More to see if anyone else is having the same problem as this bloke, im trying to get the person who posted the problem to come to sitepoint, but i cant go around advertising in other forums, coz that just aint fair.
    Search & Rescue Aberystwyth Lifeboat
    CSS Tutorials/Guides

    Sitepoint signatures are not visible to Search Engines More info

  10. #10
    SitePoint Addict psychedelic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    284
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    if u right click a html file, u'll get a variety of options to edit the html in including notepad & dreamweaver. if just do 'edit' w/o going to the expanded menu, it'll edit in the frontpage that comes with XP and that's prolly where u're getting the extra tags. sometimes files open in ms word. truly weird.
    The Internet is prettier on a Mac.

  11. #11
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Uninvited Microsoft codes originally posted by me

    hi, thanks HOTNUTS21 for posting this site in the other forum.

    I think the uninvited Microsoft codes in my html files came about because I installed Frontpage.

    I realised this after posting the question.

    Still, isn't it ****ty that Frontpage makes alteration without first asking permission!

    My experience with "good" application installation is one where if changes to files are recommended, the application will ask whether the changes should proceed.


  12. #12
    Your Lord and Master, Foamy gold trophy Hierophant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Lancaster, Ca. USA
    Posts
    12,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It will only make those additions if you open the webpage in Frontpage's editor. I have Frontpage installed on my computers and none of them have edited code except where Frontpage was used to edit the files. Even with that you can click on the HTML tab and delete the code easily.
    Wayne Luke
    ------------


  13. #13
    SitePoint Wizard geiger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    2,459
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Wayne, I'm disappointed in you! What in the world do you have Frontpage installed for? I did't think you'd have any reason for a software used to mess up code. (Come to think of it, why would anyone buy such a software?)

  14. #14
    Your Lord and Master, Foamy gold trophy Hierophant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Lancaster, Ca. USA
    Posts
    12,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It came included in Microsoft Office Professional. And in the Real World you use the software the client uses so that you know your stuff works with what they got. It isn't something I use on a regular basis. For my own work, I use Namo Webeditor and Topstyle.

    Topstyle will probably end up being my dominant editor. Especially with the new version.
    Wayne Luke
    ------------


  15. #15
    SitePoint Wizard geiger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    2,459
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Eh, if I had unlimited funds I'd get FP. But Dreamweaver MX is 100% fine for me. It's got the WYSIWYG, text editor, server-side editor, and anything that any other editor's got (as far as I need).

  16. #16
    Your Lord and Master, Foamy gold trophy Hierophant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Lancaster, Ca. USA
    Posts
    12,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Since I didn't pay for it, it doesn't bother me. I bought Office Professional for Word, Excel and Access. Everything else was a bonus.
    Wayne Luke
    ------------


  17. #17
    SitePoint Wizard geiger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    2,459
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Works for me

    Did you ever sell that vBulletin license?

  18. #18
    Your Lord and Master, Foamy gold trophy Hierophant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Lancaster, Ca. USA
    Posts
    12,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yep.
    Wayne Luke
    ------------


  19. #19
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Checkout my original html vs. the mystery html modification

    Take a look that this two. The code below is my original.

    <META HTTP-EQUIV="Content-Type" CONTENT="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
    </HEAD>


    <body BACKGROUND="images/batikbg.jpg" LEFTMARGIN="0" link="blue" alink="teal" vlink="red">
    <table BORDER="0" WIDTH="800" CELLSPACING="0" CELLPADDING="4">
    <td WIDTH="92" VALIGN="TOP"> &nbsp;<br>
    <!-- Sidebar content goes here -->

    ===================================
    The same html file has been modified by Frontpage/XP???. It is obvious that I would not modify my html to something like this! Looks like I have to download my original html files from the server.

    <META HTTP-EQUIV="Content-Type" CONTENT="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
    <meta name="Microsoft Theme" content="network 011, default">
    </HEAD>

    <body BACKGROUND="../../_themes/network/netbkgnd.gif" LEFTMARGIN="0" link="#0066CC" alink="#669999" vlink="#999999" bgcolor="#FFFFFF" text="#000000"><!--mstheme--><font face="trebuchet ms, Arial, Helvetica">
    <!--mstheme--></font><table BORDER="0" WIDTH="800" CELLSPACING="0" CELLPADDING="4">
    <td WIDTH="92" VALIGN="TOP"><!--mstheme--><font face="trebuchet ms, Arial, Helvetica"> &nbsp;<br>
    <!-- Sidebar content goes here -->

    =======================

  20. #20
    Your Lord and Master, Foamy gold trophy Hierophant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Lancaster, Ca. USA
    Posts
    12,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes, If you load the file in Frontpage, it will convert it to a page that it can read. I don't really understand what is so difficult to understand about that.

    Go to a webpage, click save as from the File Menu and then open it in Notepad. The extra coding won't be there. If you don't want Frontpage to edit your pages, then use a different program.
    Wayne Luke
    ------------


  21. #21
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    The modified codes are written into the file

    Originally posted by W. Luke
    Yes, If you load the file in Frontpage, it will convert it to a page that it can read. I don't really understand what is so difficult to understand about that.

    Go to a webpage, click save as from the File Menu and then open it in Notepad. The extra coding won't be there. If you don't want Frontpage to edit your pages, then use a different program.
    Luke, the last thing I want to do is to start an argument with you or anyone in this forum. Many of you are obviously very experienced...while I am just scratching the surface...I certainly do not have 40,000 html files and scripts!

    However, if you are wrong, I will tell you so. What is so difficult about you understanding that the modified codes are written into my file? Frontpage program was installed into my system because it came as a suite of programes. The example that I submitted was opened with Dreamweaver MX...I almost always use this program. I would have started Frontpage out of curiosity but not to do my work with it.

    Anyhow, to test your smarts, I opened that "modified" file using NotePad to check...it is good to sometimes use simple programs to check things out. The modified codes still appear in NotePad program.


  22. #22
    SitePoint Wizard geiger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    2,459
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Chances are you opened the file in FrontPage, saved it, and then tried to open it in other programs.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •