SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    56
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Getting wordpress to update automatically

    We've hosted wordpress as an intranet. Thus blocking out certain http requests from outside domains. When i login to the wordpress dashboard and head to the updates section, it states that the im using the current version of wordpress.

    Does wordpress periodically go online to check for new updates, what is the url it goes to to check? I could probably get the server guys to allow the server to allow for automatic updates.

  2. #2
    Programming Team silver trophybronze trophy
    Mittineague's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    West Springfield, Massachusetts
    Posts
    17,251
    Mentioned
    196 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    I did some poking around and found the URL WordPress uses, such as it is. (added line breaks are mine)

    PHP Code:
    $url "http://api.wordpress.org/core/version-check/1.5/?version=$wp_version
    &php=
    $php_version&locale=$locale&mysql=$mysql_version
    &local_package=
    $local_package&blogs=$num_blogs&users={$user_count['total_users']}
    &multisite_enabled=
    $multisite_enabled"
    If I enter http://api.wordpress.org/core/version-check/1.5/?version=2.9 into the address bar I get
    upgrade
    http://wordpress.org/download/
    http://wordpress.org/wordpress-3.0.1.zip
    3.0.1
    en_US
    4.3
    4.1.2

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    56
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Mittineague View Post
    If I enter http://api.wordpress.org/core/versio...5/?version=2.9 into the address bar I get
    Hi Mittineague,

    So if i allow the server to make http requests to any domain that starts with http://api.wordpress.org, wordpress will be able to check for updates?

    Thanking you in advance.

  4. #4
    Programming Team silver trophybronze trophy
    Mittineague's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    West Springfield, Massachusetts
    Posts
    17,251
    Mentioned
    196 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    AFAIK that should be enough for it to check for updates. But if you want to allow the update, you'll need wordpress.org too.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    56
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My dashboard should display the feeds from other wordpress blogs and also wordpress news, but i'm getting this error

    WP HTTP Error: Could not open handle for fopen() to http://wordpress.org/development/feed/

    I am researching on this.

    The internal portal is installed on WAMP that is installed in Windows Server 2008.

    here's how it looks like

    http://twitpic.com/2o9yxk/full

    Thanks again

  6. #6
    Programming Team silver trophybronze trophy
    Mittineague's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    West Springfield, Massachusetts
    Posts
    17,251
    Mentioned
    196 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Any luck?

    I've been trying to think of reasons the fopen() might fail. From what I can see by the config settings it seems it should work OK. Unfortunately I don't know how to get more helpful error messages as to why fopen() is failing. Getting a message that it failed is something I guess, but it doesn't give much to go on.

    Maybe if you added "index.php" to the end of the URL?


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •