Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Profiling a Classic ASP and Access website for memory leaks

Hi,

I am fairly new to ASP and VBasic. However, I have somehow managed to create a website for a shop that has gone live after appearing to be fine and robust during testing.

Sadly, it seems that since launching the site (which has between 100-1000 visitors a day) it has suffered memory problems with the w3wp.exe process chewing up from ~132MB to ALL (512MB) of the available memory and the processor is apparently maxing out at points and causing the server to fall over. That said, the main problem is the fact that pages are very slow to download and I am trying to find out why...

Since I am new to VB I suspect that I have not been closing up all my objects and releasing memory properly (which I presume is done by explicity setting the variables to Nothing after closing them). I am doing this now. I figured that high mem usage might cause more cpu cycles as the garbage collector goes into overload trying to free up memory.

How can I measure and profile my classic ASP (VB) code to find where it is taking time and how much memory each line/page uses?

Next Question: Session Variables....My code features a lot of Session variable usage. I am not sure that the Global.asa->Session_OnEnd() function is being executed because I often log in to find that the active sessions is between 1000-4000 (usually about 4-10 times the number of visitors as reported by google analytics). I am getting the number of active sessions from a counter variable that is incremented in Global.asa->Session_OnStart() and decremented in Global.asa->Session_OnEnd(). My session duration is supposed to be about a day. Heres my global.asa file:

<script language="vbscript" runat="server">

Sub Application_OnStart
    Application("visitors")=0
    Application("logged_in_visitors")=0
    End Sub

Sub Session_OnStart