SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 26 to 38 of 38
  1. #26
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    638
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Mittineague,
    I'm not sure wordpress can translate as good as google and yahoo? If not, why would anyone bother. Wouldn't it be even more difficult for google and yahoo to correct translation errors? If google and yahoo are better, what if someone prefers their translation becuase they found them to work the best so many times before but they only have the already-wordpress-translated text, especially if the wordpress translation text is wrong or unreadable?


    Chris

  2. #27
    Programming Team silver trophybronze trophy
    Mittineague's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    West Springfield, Massachusetts
    Posts
    17,226
    Mentioned
    194 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    IMHO the WordPress translations should be better than Yahoo or Google because they are made by humans. True, it depends on how good a job they do, but I think a person that is fluent in both languages can restructure a sentence, use the correct tense, etc. better than an algorithm can - at least at the present time.

    Try an experiment.

    Use the translator to change an English sentence to another language.
    Copy that
    Use the translator to change that back to English

    Are they the same? Has anything been lost and is it less clear?

  3. #28
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    638
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Mittineague,
    If. Fortunately it's not. You know on that site when I had those files installed, google showed the 7th most common term for the site was "all-in-one-seo-pack". That's got to be hard on SEO on small sites.

    Chris

  4. #29
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    638
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Mittineague, DrewryMedia,
    Mittineague fixed the title with
    <title><?php wp_title() ?></title>
    to fix the missing description why not
    <description><?php wp_description() ?></description>
    Is wp_description() a real command are there other description commands?

    Thanks,

    Chris

  5. #30
    Programming Team silver trophybronze trophy
    Mittineague's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    West Springfield, Massachusetts
    Posts
    17,226
    Mentioned
    194 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    lol, it would be nice if there was one for everything already "built in".

    As it is - I've never counted - there's got to be over a hundred of them http://codex.wordpress.org/Plugin_API/Filter_Reference

    But I'd still bet the "custom fields" is the answer. Have you looked into that?

  6. #31
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    638
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Mittineague,
    Here's something I found that's interesting,
    "It is important for website developers to understand that a default installation of WordPress does not contain the description and keywords meta tag data. Meta tags can be added manually, through changes to the Theme template files or through WordPress Plugins. " http://codex.wordpress.org/Meta_Tags_in_WordPress

    Toward the end of the page I found,
    "To get more sophisticated, you can add a conditional tag query that asks "If this is a single post view, show the post title; if this is a multi-post view, show the blog name and description." The conditional tag query looks like this:

    <meta name="description" content="<?php if ( is_single() ) {
    single_post_title('', true);
    } else {
    bloginfo('name'); echo " - "; bloginfo('description');
    }
    ?>" />"

    I'll see what I can work out with this. Woprdpress really should have the description tag in by default.

    Chris

  7. #32
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    638
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Mittineague,
    I put
    <meta name="description" content="<?php if ( is_single() ) {
    single_post_title('', true);
    } else {
    bloginfo('name'); echo " - "; bloginfo('description');
    }
    ?>" />"

    into header.php. It creates " <meta name="description" content=" - " /> " in view source. Have any ideas where I enter the actual description for each of the pages? I don't think it's through custom fields. Shouldn't they (the descriptions) be somewhere from all in one seo pack

    Thanks,

    Chris

  8. #33
    Programming Team silver trophybronze trophy
    Mittineague's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    West Springfield, Massachusetts
    Posts
    17,226
    Mentioned
    194 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    AFAIK there still isn't a menu link to the page - kind of like an "Easter Egg" - but if you go to your wp-admin/options.php page I think there will be a field there where you can enter it.

  9. #34
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    638
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Mittineague,
    I understand wp-admin/options.php to mean any of the different choices on the left under Settings (in wordpress). If so, wouldn't anything in there apply to all the pages?

    Thanks,

    Chris

  10. #35
    Programming Team silver trophybronze trophy
    Mittineague's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    West Springfield, Massachusetts
    Posts
    17,226
    Mentioned
    194 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Sorry, I guess I take it for granted that others can "read" code like I can. The code snippet you posted roughly translates to

    If the page is a single post, use its title:
    single_post_title('', true);
    in the meta description. Otherwise (if more than one posts are on the page) use the blog name and blog description:
    bloginfo('name'); echo " - "; bloginfo('description');

    So if you want the "page description" in the meta tag, then yes, it will need to be done a different way.

  11. #36
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    638
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Mittineague,
    Looks like I gotta get a programmer. All I want is individual descriptions and sets of keywords for each page. How much should I pay for something like that. What company do you like?

    Thanks,

    Chris

  12. #37
    Programming Team silver trophybronze trophy
    Mittineague's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    West Springfield, Massachusetts
    Posts
    17,226
    Mentioned
    194 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    I've never hired a programmer, I like writing code myself too much and time is not an issue.

    You could try the Marketplace I suppose.

    But I still think if you start a new thread something like "How can I use Custom Fields for meta description/keyword content?" someone will come along to help.

  13. #38
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    638
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Mitt,
    I started a new thresd with the title you suggested.

    Thanks,

    Chris


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •