SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Exclamation Desperately seeking...help...

Hi there,

I'm a newbie to this forum, and I hope you don't mind my starting out asking dumb questions. If I don't belong here, feel free to ignore me! I'm a 40 year old mom, with a natural born desire to create websites, but after trying many HTML editors, reading tons of books, printing as many code dictionaries as I could find, and more recently becoming unsettled that my newfound knowledge of HTML may soon be overthrown by XML, I'm in a tizzy. I'm not sure I can do this, and I can't make up my mind what direction I should take. I actually registered a domain name that I intended to make into a site/e-zine for women, but by the time I get the site up, the name will be expired! I basically need a simple newsletter type design, with pages set aside for articles, quizzes, questionnaires, photo essays, and archives. I can build from there if the site does well enough. Does anyone have any pity, I mean, advice, and if so, would they be kind enough to give me some ideas on which would be the best editor, or way to bring my phantom site into virtual existence? I am a writer by nature, and I didn't want to expend all my energies toward the site, as I did on the content. Thank you from the bottom of my heart to you dear souls who'd care to reply! Have a good night! Janice

(****** or Deleted)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well first off all I would suggest getting your deisgn laid out... Consider things like what fonts to use, what colours... Where will the navigation be, where will the logo be... Do you have a logo...

Once you have the design you can set up a simple template system and creating the content should be relatively easy...