Strange call behavior?

I’m a JS novice and SitePoint has been very useful in my self-education. I’m hoping to get more specific advice by joining the forum, and maybe one day will have advice to give.

I’ve built a simple web form for my site and used a JS function to clear each field’s initial value onfocus (and restore onblur):

function resetFields(whichform) {
for (var i=0; i<whichform.elements.length; i++) {
var element = whichform.elements[i];
if (element.type == “submit”) continue;
if (!element.defaultValue) continue;
element.onfocus = function() {
if (this.value == this.defaultValue) {
this.value = “”;
}
}
element.onblur = function() {
if (this.value == “”) {
this.value = this.defaultValue;
}
}
}
}

window.onload = prepareForms;
function prepareForms() {
for (var i=0; i<document.forms.length; i++) {
var thisform = document.forms[i];
resetFields(thisform);
}
}

I built the form in its own html document and tested this in most browsers; it works well. But when I add it to my site, where the form is in an initially hidden layer, the script doesn’t work. I assumed that the call function had broken down for some reason and so tried removing the window.onload call and assigned an MM_callJS function to the form itself onfocus… no luck.

I’m aware that there may be some issue with the hidden form not being recognized by the resetFields function, but I really don’t know where to go from here.

And I have to say that I really don’t see why the script isn’t running in all forms on the page hidden or visible.

Any enlightenment is GREATLY appreciated.

Mr. Wilkins, you are a gentleman and a savior. Everything is running smoothly now and I appreciate knowing that I can call functions from the bottom of the page; it never occurred to me to organize that way but I’m already seeing improvements.

Sincere thanks.

Let’s get testing.

Here is an initially hidden layer:

<p><a id="toggle" href="#hidden">Toggle hidden layer</a></p>
<div id="hidden">
    <form>