SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    SitePoint Evangelist TomTees's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    553
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    OS X Clock Screwed Up

    The clock on my MacBook OS X 10.5.8 will not automatically update.

    I set it to last year while rendering some music to get an old timestamp, and when I click the "Update Automatically" (or whatever) it doesn't work.

    I rebooted, but no luck.

    I tried re-setting the PRAM, but no luck.

    I tried this article, but no luck.

    Just when I stopped hating my MacBook, the hate-affair is back again...

    (Macs do NOT "just work". What a load of crapola.)

    Any help would be appreciated!!!



    TomTees

  2. #2
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Staffordshire, UK & Florida, USA
    Posts
    314
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Try repairing your permissions (/Utilities/Disk Utility.app)

  3. #3
    SitePoint Evangelist TomTees's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    553
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by djones View Post
    Try repairing your permissions (/Utilities/Disk Utility.app)
    Is there any risk that running the Disk_Utilities app could screw up my MacBook??

    Do I need to back anything up first?


    TomTees

  4. #4
    SitePoint Evangelist TomTees's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    553
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by djones View Post
    Try repairing your permissions (/Utilities/Disk Utility.app)
    I tried it twice with a re-boot after each attempt.

    It didn't help.

    My system clock absolutely will not update when I click "Set dtae & time automatically".

    I had this issue after I got my new MacBook a year or two ago, but it seemed to go away after a re-boot.

    But this has been broken all week.



    TomTees

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    2,293
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    if you have a firewall of some sort, try turning it off temporarily to see if that makes a difference. if it does you're a step closer to sorting it.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Evangelist TomTees's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    553
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by johnyboy View Post
    if you have a firewall of some sort, try turning it off temporarily to see if that makes a difference. if it does you're a step closer to sorting it.
    What difference would that make?

    I am staying in a motel currently, but have full Internet access and seem to have a good connection, so Internet connectivity shouldn't be an issue.



    TomTees

  7. #7
    From space with love silver trophy
    SpacePhoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Poole, UK
    Posts
    4,910
    Mentioned
    96 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Does it show correct in the Mac version of a PC's BIOS?
    Community Team Advisor
    Forum Guidelines: Posting FAQ Signatures FAQ Self Promotion FAQ
    Help the Mods: What's Fluff? Report Fluff/Spam to a Moderator

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    2,293
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by TomTees View Post
    What difference would that make?

    I am staying in a motel currently, but have full Internet access and seem to have a good connection, so Internet connectivity shouldn't be an issue.



    TomTees
    so far as i know it gets the correct current date and time (that is what we're talking about isn't it?) from the internet. so a firewall may be blocking something. quick way to find out is to turn off the software firewall if one is running and then see if it's able to update the time and date. worth a go seeing as it'd only take a minute to try.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Evangelist TomTees's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    553
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by SpacePhoenix View Post
    Does it show correct in the Mac version of a PC's BIOS?
    How would I check that?



    TomTees

  10. #10
    SitePoint Evangelist TomTees's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    553
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by johnyboy View Post
    so far as i know it gets the correct current date and time (that is what we're talking about isn't it?) from the internet. so a firewall may be blocking something. quick way to find out is to turn off the software firewall if one is running and then see if it's able to update the time and date. worth a go seeing as it'd only take a minute to try.
    If I go under "Security", "Firewall", and then switch from "Allow only essential services" to "Allow all incoming connections" it didn't do anything to help the clock situation.

    Unless maybe I need to "lock" things and then re-boot?

    (This problem is turning out to be a real bugger?!)


    TomTees

  11. #11
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    2,293
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    there seems to be other people having the same problem

    http://www.google.co.uk/search?q=os+...cally+problems

    http://www.macosxhints.com/article.p...10330121049532
    http://discussions.info.apple.com/me...sageID=9418780
    http://discussions.info.apple.com/me...sageID=9442988

    didn't read fully enough to see if there is actually an answer but maybe there's something in there that'll be helpful


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •