SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot pnathan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    160
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    MS SQL Truncates Varchar Output

    Ok, here goes:

    I have a MS SQL database and I am out puting INT, Varchar, TEXT etc...

    I think this problem has only occured in the last few days, I cannot output more then 255 character from a Varchar field. It truncates the content of there is more then 255 characters.

    I can output the complete Text fields, but I want to use Varchar because it takes up less space the Text.

    Can anybody help, I have come across a few people with this problem on the web but no answers as of yet. Very frustrating.
    I have two tickets to the Crows, sweet.

  2. #2
    \m/ R.I.P. Dimebag! \m/ JimBolla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    erie, pa
    Posts
    1,130
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    if the size of the varchar field is 255, the most characters it can hold is 255. if you need more, making the field bigger. if that's not the problem (i.e. the field already is more than 255), then i'd suggest installing the latest version of MDAC (available at microsoft.com)

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot pnathan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    160
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yeah the Varchar field is 2000 characters big. What is MDAC? Something like a service pack.
    I have two tickets to the Crows, sweet.

  4. #4
    \m/ R.I.P. Dimebag! \m/ JimBolla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    erie, pa
    Posts
    1,130
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot pnathan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    160
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for that, the Web Server is Windows NT so that kinda makes sense, if what is written on the MSFT site is correct.

    I will post my results later in the day.
    I have two tickets to the Crows, sweet.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Zealot pnathan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    160
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I installed the new MDAC and it is still not working. Anyother suggestions?
    I have two tickets to the Crows, sweet.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •