SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard bbolte's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    The Central Plains
    Posts
    3,301
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    MS Access projects and SQL Server

    my host isn't being any help and i'm totally lost in MSDN. how do i connect an Access project to a remote SQL db? i keep getting errors saying it can't connect and i'm not sure what i'm missing.

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard westmich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Muskegon, MI
    Posts
    2,328
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I posted a link below, but didn't find much help either. I do have a book on the subject which looks good like most other Wrox books, but I haven't done much with it.

    Try:
    1) Open Access and select 'Access database wizards, pages, and projects' from the initial pop-up window.
    2) Select 'Project(existing database)' assuming you have your SQL Server database in place > Create.
    3) Follow the connection dialog > Enter IP or existing DSN > Username and password > Select database > OK
    4) You now have your initial starting screen with tables, views, and other items similar to a normal Access file, but geared for SQL Server. Adding a table here, view, or other object actually adds it on the SQL Server.

    http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/de...ccessproject_3
    Westmich
    Smart Web Solutions for Smart Clients
    http://www.mindscapecreative.com

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard bbolte's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    The Central Plains
    Posts
    3,301
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yeah, did that but couldn't get it to connect up.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard westmich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Muskegon, MI
    Posts
    2,328
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You may want to try and see if you can connect to your database first. You can set-up a DNS through Windows or, better yet, try and connect with WinSQL.

    It's a free and handy tool - http://www.indus-soft.com/winsql/

    If you have trouble setting up a DNS, it's generally under Control Panel | [Administrative Tools] | Data Sources.
    Westmich
    Smart Web Solutions for Smart Clients
    http://www.mindscapecreative.com

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard bbolte's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    The Central Plains
    Posts
    3,301
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i downloaded that tool last night and played around with it. i think i'm connected, but since i don't have any tables in the db yet, i'm not sure. i did try setting up a dns and it appears to be working as well.

    i'm going to look into the documentation that i downloaded from the winsql and play around with it some more tonight. thanks.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard westmich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Muskegon, MI
    Posts
    2,328
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Try creating a table. You should also see system tables provided you those privalages.
    Westmich
    Smart Web Solutions for Smart Clients
    http://www.mindscapecreative.com

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard bbolte's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    The Central Plains
    Posts
    3,301
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    got it to work! thanks westmich. that is a pretty cool tool for free!


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •