SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    93
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question Help moving a MySQL database

    I am planning to switch hosting companies and would like to know the best method of transferring my database files and associated data.

    Thank you in advance.

    Mark

  2. #2
    SitePoint Evangelist compwizard's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    457
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    if you are using phpMyAdmin, you can do a complete structure and data dump for the database...if not, you could export the data to a comma delimted file and import it back into the database
    Compwizard
    "There are 10 kinds of people in this world -- those who know binary, and those who don't."

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    93
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Unfortunately the host uses MysqlTool and I don't see any structure or data dump options. But I'll look harder.

    So to export/import a comma delimited file, are there any MySQL/PHP commands that I need to be aware of?

    Also, I guess that I would have to build all the tables from scratch on the new server.

    Thanks.

    Mark

  4. #4
    SitePoint Evangelist compwizard's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    457
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    if not that farmiliar with mysql tool, but using there demo, i was able to find part or the solution....if you click on the database name on the left-pane, there is a link that says: Generate "Create Table" Script
    on the right hand side....click that....click select all tables....that will give you a structure dump, but not a data dump...im working on that though
    Compwizard
    "There are 10 kinds of people in this world -- those who know binary, and those who don't."

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    93
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes, I saw the same function in my host's installation of the software. So I know I can generate the SQL to create the tables.

    The home page for mySqlTool states on their wish list the need for data exporting and importing feature.

    So, I need some help in exporting the data to a comma-delimited file and the subsequent importing to the new database. By the way, the new host does hve phpMyAdmin installed.

    Thanks for all your help.

    Mark

  6. #6
    SitePoint Evangelist compwizard's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    457
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i can't seem to find out how...sorry..maybe some one else who is more familiar with the program can help
    Compwizard
    "There are 10 kinds of people in this world -- those who know binary, and those who don't."


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •