SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    google analytics

    im trying to set up Site Search in Google Analytics so i can see what users are searching for on my site. step 4 and 5 says,

    4# Enter your 'Query Parameter' in the field provided. Please enter only the word or words that designate an internal query parameter such as "term,search,query". Sometimes the word is just a letter, such as "s" or "q". You may provide up to five parameters, separated by a comma.

    5# Select whether or not you want Google Analytics to strip out the query parameter from your URL. Please note that this will only strip out the parameters you provided, and not any other parameters in the same URL. This has the same functionality as excluding URL Query Parameters in your Main Profile - if you strip the query parameters from your Site Search Profile, you don't have to exclude them again from your Main Profile.
    not sure what that Query parameter means or what i should input, anyone know?

  2. #2
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    20
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    don't bother about all of that... I didn't even bother reading that.. Just copy the code and paste it in any widget or part of your blog or site...
    The analytics starts working in 48 hours.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by jawnmurray View Post
    don't bother about all of that... I didn't even bother reading that.. Just copy the code and paste it in any widget or part of your blog or site...
    The analytics starts working in 48 hours.
    yea ive had all the other things up and working for a while now, it would be nice to see what people are searching tho

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    64
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Doesn't it automatically give you all the top search terms though, without having to enter special queries?

    S

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot thomasr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    174
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yeah you do not need to set parameters...in analytics go to traffic sources -> keywords....this will show you what keywords brought traffic. Google webmaster tools also has a great interface. It will have the data you are looking for.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by thomasr View Post
    yeah you do not need to set parameters...in analytics go to traffic sources -> keywords....this will show you what keywords brought traffic. Google webmaster tools also has a great interface. It will have the data you are looking for.
    This is true, but it won't show internal searches. I am not sure which of the two the original poster meant.
    GregCaughill.com
    Web Developer and Online Marketer
    Christian Discipleship
    Walking With You as You Walk With Jesus

  7. #7
    SitePoint Member centol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yes I agree it does not display internal searches

    ___________________________
    Dolphin
    Twin Bed

  8. #8
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    174
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you have doubts in Google analytics then Statcounter and Awstats is there to serve you.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    dear you just google analytics code paste into your website html before closing the body tag like </body> okay
    then you can watch the complete analytic of your site after approval

  10. #10
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    174
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by asianbridge View Post
    dear you just google analytics code paste into your website html before closing the body tag like </body> okay
    then you can watch the complete analytic of your site after approval
    The same with the other Traffic checker tools like statcounter.

    All you have to do is follow their instructions.

  11. #11
    SitePoint Enthusiast Damage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    97
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    In order to effectively track your own site's internal search, you need to provide GA with your query parameter. It's the word or letters after the question mark and after the equal sign:

    "www.yourdomain.com/?search=searchterm"

    For the above example the query parameter would be "search".
    Web Analytics Traffic Web Analytics | Traffic

    Past: Google Webmaster
    Current: Google Analytics Certified Implementation Specialist

  12. #12
    SitePoint Enthusiast mooncake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    37
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by jawnmurray View Post
    don't bother about all of that... I didn't even bother reading that.. Just copy the code and paste it in any widget or part of your blog or site...
    The analytics starts working in 48 hours.
    I agree. I use blogspot for my blog site. And adding google analytics to the site is just easy as abc: just copy and paste the code to the footage of the site's source code.

  13. #13
    SitePoint Enthusiast Damage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    97
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mooncake View Post
    I agree. I use blogspot for my blog site. And adding google analytics to the site is just easy as abc: just copy and paste the code to the footage of the site's source code.
    That's not what he's asking. He already has the code in there. He's asking how to configure GA to track internal site searching.
    Web Analytics Traffic Web Analytics | Traffic

    Past: Google Webmaster
    Current: Google Analytics Certified Implementation Specialist

  14. #14
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    100
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You have some parts to note with checked in the profile/options box.

  15. #15
    SitePoint Enthusiast fpilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    30
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Jmart285 View Post
    im trying to set up Site Search in Google Analytics so i can see what users are searching for on my site. step 4 and 5 says,



    not sure what that Query parameter means or what i should input, anyone know?

    I have couple of sites for which I do marketing and track every day its easy to maintain things if you know what you doing.

    somehow google analytic is better than others

  16. #16
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    17
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    On the search page, try setting a custom variable in the js

    http://code.google.com/apis/analytic...._setCustomVar

  17. #17
    Non-Member Jeff Collision's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    225
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just copying the verification code in your site / blog is enough in the bottom most source code before the body tag. For more queries you can ask directly in the Google Analytics forum. It will gives you better solution.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •