SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43° 44.4824', W079° 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    WordPress Addon Question

    I have this WordPress Addon and I would like to know what the options below mean ? I'm looking for an option whereas when I activate it, it stays active but when I activate this addon and go to the page it loads. The point of the addon is to show "Under Maintenance" but I would like it to show this message when I activate the addon with whatever I'm doing but it doesn't seem to be doing that unless the option below is exactly what I'm after ?

    Access to blog front-end and administration (back-end)

    By default, only logged in administrators (more exactly: users with the capability «manage_options») do have full access to the blog's front-end and will not see any splash page when the maintenance mode is activated. You can change this here:
    Access to blog front-end with capability (role):admin/author/editor/contributor

    By default, anyone who is logged in to the blog (more exactly: users with the capability «read») does have access to the WordPress administration (back-end) when the maintenance mode is activated. You can restrict this here:
    Access to administration/back-end with capability (role):admin/author/editor/contributor

  2. #2
    Programming Since 1978 silver trophybronze trophy felgall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    16,869
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    You don't need an addon to put WordPress into maintenance mode. There is a value in the database options to do it.
    Stephen J Chapman

    javascriptexample.net, Book Reviews, follow me on Twitter
    HTML Help, CSS Help, JavaScript Help, PHP/mySQL Help, blog
    <input name="html5" type="text" required pattern="^$">

  3. #3
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43° 44.4824', W079° 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Oh, how do I go about doing this ? Regardless what I'm installing whether if be a theme, add-on etc I can put it into maintenance mode without something going wonky ?

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast techiekaran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    50
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It means that you (or any other Admin) won't see a maintenance message, but your regular visitors will see it.

  5. #5
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43° 44.4824', W079° 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I would like to be able to see the maintenance message, although I worry that I won't be able to login to the WP Admin account if I set this option to 'on' !

  6. #6
    Follow Me On Twitter: @djg gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Grossman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Philadephia, PA
    Posts
    20,578
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you want to see the maintenance message for some reason, go to your blog in a different browser. You'll be logged in from the browser you're working on, while the other browser isn't logged in so sees the maintenance message.

  7. #7
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43° 44.4824', W079° 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    When I put WP into maintenance mode regardless if I log out of WP on the same browser I won't see the maintenance message but from another browser once maintenance mode is activated it is seen ?


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •