SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    98
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Ip Address never stops changing.

    It drives me nuts. My Ip address changes daily and there's no way to block myself out of things like analytics. Does anyone have an idea on this?

    I use my T-Mobile phone as my internet.

  2. #2
    From space with love silver trophy
    SpacePhoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Poole, UK
    Posts
    4,998
    Mentioned
    100 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Does the phone's net connection go into "sleep mode" after x number of hours inactivity? If it does it might be dropping the connection and so you get a new IP upon reconnection, if that's the case then just disable the "sleep mode".

    Another possibility is that T-Mobile give everyone a new IP address once every 24hrs.
    Community Team Advisor
    Forum Guidelines: Posting FAQ Signatures FAQ Self Promotion FAQ
    Help the Mods: What's Fluff? Report Fluff/Spam to a Moderator

  3. #3
    Programming Since 1978 silver trophybronze trophy felgall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    16,788
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Sounds like the account you have with your ISP is not one that offers a fixed IP address. To get a fixed IP address you'll need to change the particular service you have with the ISP or change to a different ISP.

    You will be more likely to find a fixed IP address offered with a business account than on one intended for home use (where the contantly changing IP address is presumed to not matter).

    Since ISPs can charge more for a fixed IP address many have deliberately configured their cheaper options to change the IP address every so often in order to produce two different types of account in order to be able to apply that price difference.
    Stephen J Chapman

    javascriptexample.net, Book Reviews, follow me on Twitter
    HTML Help, CSS Help, JavaScript Help, PHP/mySQL Help, blog
    <input name="html5" type="text" required pattern="^$">

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    98
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanks,

    You've been programming what since 1978? Computers?! Weren't dinosaurs still roaming the Earth at that time? All jokes aside no one had a pc really at that time?

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Posts
    123
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There weren't much in the way of personal computers (I think that was more so in the 80s). But I do believe at the time punch cards were all the rage.

    Several languages (e.g. Machine code) did exist then, most notably - Fortran.

    Ontopic: Change your service plan.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    27
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can use cookies on your site to make sure the analytics code is not included for you.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    98
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    How do you use cookies?

  8. #8
    One website at a time mmj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    6,282
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It's a fact of life.

    IP addresses are a scarce resource, so companies are not going to hand them out to people who aren't expected to be running servers from their connection. Instead they have a pool of them that they hand out to people on demand.

    If you need a static IP you need to ask your ISP nicely and provide a rationale - like, you need to run a web/mail/dns server from your connection.

    You may find, however, that this is against the terms of service of some ISPs, and if it isn't, they may still be unwilling to give a static IP.
    [mmj] My magic jigsaw
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    The Bit Depth Blog Twitter Contact me
    Neon Javascript Framework Jokes Android stuff

  9. #9
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    174
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you need a static IP you need to ask your ISP nicely and provide a rationale - like, you need to run a web/mail/dns server from your connection.

    You may find, however, that this is against the terms of service of some ISPs, and if it isn't, they may still be unwilling to give a static IP.
    There is no harm in trying. You must try it first then inform us if you get it.

  10. #10
    Programming Since 1978 silver trophybronze trophy felgall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    16,788
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Dirky47 View Post
    There is no harm in trying. You must try it first then inform us if you get it.
    Just look at their business plans. Often the difference between the home and business plans (apart from the price difference) is that you get a static IP address for the extra ten or twenty dollars a month you pay for the equivalent business plan.
    Stephen J Chapman

    javascriptexample.net, Book Reviews, follow me on Twitter
    HTML Help, CSS Help, JavaScript Help, PHP/mySQL Help, blog
    <input name="html5" type="text" required pattern="^$">

  11. #11
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    174
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by felgall View Post
    Just look at their business plans. Often the difference between the home and business plans (apart from the price difference) is that you get a static IP address for the extra ten or twenty dollars a month you pay for the equivalent business plan.
    Oh I see, then what is the most recommendable thing to do?

  12. #12
    One website at a time mmj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    6,282
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The business plan point is a good one, though I am not aware of mobile phone companies providing a business plan with a static IP like an ADSL company would. Worth looking into though.

    However, it's probably overkill if all you want to do is to exclude yourself from your web stats.

    Don't Google Analytics have a cookie feature for that?
    [mmj] My magic jigsaw
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    The Bit Depth Blog Twitter Contact me
    Neon Javascript Framework Jokes Android stuff

  13. #13
    SitePoint Enthusiast VicToMeyeZr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    36
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You could always use your hostname instead of your IP.. How many people on t-mobile are browsing your site anyways?

  14. #14
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    98
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think I clogged the hole for the time being. It was nice when I had a static ip instead of a pooled ip (I guess you'd call it?).

    Thanks


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •