SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Hybrid View

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Html Email Design - what widths should you use?

Hi,

We want to design some email templates for the quotes we send to customers.

I was wondering if there was any advise on the widths that you should design emails to - or is this just the sames as webpage design widths?

Thanks for the help

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,

I'm just getting into this myself. According to SitePoint's book on this, they suggest a width of 800px (like the old monitor standard). When people read these e-mails in their programs such as Windows Mail, it's a much smaller window than a regular 1024 x 768 monitor.

Hope this helps!

Mouse catcher silver trophy
    Mentioned
    114 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Big Zee View Post
    We want to design some email templates for the quotes we send to customers.

I was wondering if there was any advise on the widths that you should design emails to - or is this just the sames as webpage design widths?
    Try these two Sitepoint articles: Code HTML email newsletters and Designers Guide to HTML email

In terms of widths - remember that some people will be reading emails in a much narrower (and shorter) space than they will typically use to view web pages.

Non-Member bronze trophy
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I wouldn't -- since I have all my servers set to auto-send HTML e-mails to the users trash... like a lot of hosts.

HTML e-mail pretty much just screams "Hey look, I'm SPAM" - so I wouldn't be wasting my time (or bandwidth) on them in the first place.

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by deathshadow60 View Post
    I wouldn't -- since I have all my servers set to auto-send HTML e-mails to the users trash... like a lot of hosts.