SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Exclamation Netscape doesn't show my web site - help!

    I have a site at http://www.businessmom.com that doesn't show up until RELOAD is hit. Home page as well as other pages.

    Don't know what could be possibly wrong, NetMechanic said "0 errors".

    Please, help, I have been at it for hours!

    Thanks so much!
    Milana.

  2. #2
    The Legend Indian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Gods' Own Country
    Posts
    890
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Which version of Netscape did you try?
    I don't see any problem with Netscape 6.1. Your site loaded within 5 secs.
    Death --the last sleep? No, it is the final awakening.

    TinyPlanet.org
    Discuss and Debate World Events, Politics and Religion

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast spleenboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    40
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    I saw it, too

    I couldn't see it using NN 4.76 until I refreshed. When I looked in the source code, at the very bottom of the page, there is an unclosed hyperlink tag. Also, there were no closing body and html tags.
    s-p-l-e-e-n-d-i-f-e-r-o-u-s

  4. #4
    SitePoint Zealot Snegolle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    142
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Wink That's OK

    I am using Netscape 7.0 Preview Release 1 and your site was shown perfectly. I tried to see it with Opera 6.03 - OK.
    No signature

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard Aes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    3,392
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: I saw it, too

    Originally posted by spleenboy
    I couldn't see it using NN 4.76 until I refreshed. When I looked in the source code, at the very bottom of the page, there is an unclosed hyperlink tag. Also, there were no closing body and html tags.
    Do as he says and close those tags at the ending of your pages. I can all but guarantee that will fix your problem.

    -Colin
    Colin Anderson
    Ambition is a poor excuse for those without
    sense enough to be lazy.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast MarcTomasz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    49
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I had the same problem once before. That's why I never really liked Netscape. One TINY mistake and BANG, nothing!

    Are the later versions of Netscape any better? Just curious.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I tested your site in NS 4.78, NS 6.2.3, Opera 6.04, Mozilla 1.0 (Public) and of course IE 6, and got no problems at all, using win98.

    Please note that Opera 6 runs off of IE 5, not sure why, but it seems to detect it whenever I use browser sniffer, and I can see some of the settle differences between IE 6 and Opera 6 as I did between IE 5 & 6, so I'm sure IE 5 works fine, and probally 4 as well.

    I always suggest using a wysiwyg editor, preferably fp98 if you know what you're doing. I do my site in it, and my site (as of the next version) will be completely cross-browser compatable and viewable at all resolutions (Cept 640x480, but anyone running on that doesn't deserve to see my site bwahahaha ::gets back out of evil mode: so anyways, it looks fine. I suggest using NS 4.78 as it is to the extent of my almost endless knowledge , the last 4X version of NS and thus supposed to be the best. NS 6 initial release wasn't to grand, by 6.2.3 seems to have fixed a lot of inital NS 6 bugs, and I'm already DLing NS 7

    Good luck with your site.
    John
    Webmaster & Host of JAB Creations
    www.jabcreations.com

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy TheOriginalH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    4,811
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by JAB Creations
    Please note that Opera 6 runs off of IE 5, not sure why, but it seems to detect it whenever I use browser sniffer, and I can see some of the settle differences between IE 6 and Opera 6 as I did between IE 5 & 6, so I'm sure IE 5 works fine, and probally 4 as well.
    No it doesn't!!

    Hit f12 and you'll find that it can masquerade as many browsers. A feature added by the Opera team to get round those silly misinformed "your browser won't work on this site" redirects....
    ~The Artist Latterly Known as Crazy Hamster~
    922ee590a26bd62eb9b33cf2877a00df
    Currently delving into Django, GIT & CentOS

  9. #9
    gingham dress, army boots... silver trophy redux's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Salford / Manchester / UK
    Posts
    4,838
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by MarcTomasz
    I had the same problem once before. That's why I never really liked Netscape. One TINY mistake and BANG, nothing!

    Are the later versions of Netscape any better? Just curious.
    i wouldn't call not closing body and html tags a "tiny" mistake. i actually wish browsers were stricter in enforcing well-formedness of documents (but then, about 90% of the web would be inaccessible )
    re·dux (adj.): brought back; returned. used postpositively
    [latin : re-, re- + dux, leader; see duke.]
    WaSP Accessibility Task Force Member
    splintered.co.uk | photographia.co.uk | redux.deviantart.com


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •