SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot mistaya123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    135
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    selection lines showing

    Hi,
    On this page:
    http://www.articlecon.com/digiben/index.html

    when the page loads in firefox, there is a kind of dotted lines around HOME menu link. The lines go away when you click anywhere else on the page. But are back when the link is clicked. It happens with every click on a main menu link on the site. even when you click on the its submenu link.

    These lines show in firefox and apple. But not in ie and opera.

    Please help.

  2. #2
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    622
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    try this

    Code:
    a:active {
      outline: none;
    }
    or

    Code:
    a{
    outline:none;
    }
    vineet

  3. #3
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,726
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That's weird, but also make sure :focus isn't set (a:focus{outline:0;})

    I don't see this happening on mine, so I'm guessing
    Always looking for web design/development work.
    http://www.CodeFundamentals.com

  4. #4
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,726
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It's :focus that's causing it . Just tested
    Always looking for web design/development work.
    http://www.CodeFundamentals.com

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot mistaya123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    135
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    there is green arrow supposed to appear under the current page link. Without a:focus, this arrow doesn,t appear. even though i have set it on a:active as well.


    the outline:none seemed to work. but still could you clarify when to use a:focus and when not?

    Than you

  6. #6
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,726
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You should always specify a:focus (helps accessibility)

    By default, you should always have an outline set on :focus because otherwise keyboard users will be SOL.
    Always looking for web design/development work.
    http://www.CodeFundamentals.com


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •