SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    2,301
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    always static bar - how have they done it?

    the bar in the top left corner of this page -

    http://www.w3.org/1999/06/REC-xml-stylesheet-19990629/

    how have they done it?
    would it be possible to have clickable links on it?
    would it be possible to have it stretching accross right accross the bottom of the page?

  2. #2
    Former Staff Member silver trophy Adam P.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    3,288
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don't see any bar. Could you be more specific?
    SPF Mentor/Advisor 2001-2003
    SPF Designer of the Year 2002
    SPF Graphic Designer of the Year 2003
    AdamPolselli.com

  3. #3
    SitePoint Evangelist compwizard's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    457
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What bar?

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    2,301
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    eh?

    the blue bar, ok maybe bar isn't the best word, block in the top left of the screen with the words 'w3c recomendation' in

  5. #5
    Grumpy Mole Man Skunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Lawrence, Kansas
    Posts
    2,067
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That's done using the CSS background-position: fixed property. For some reason it doesn't seem to be working in IE6, possibly because the stylesheet declares properties for the body tag twice and IE treats the second declaration as overriding the first (rather than adding the properties together as it should).

    More info on CSS background techniques here: http://www.w3schools.com/css/css_background.asp

    It isn't possible to have clickable links on a background, but it is possible to have them in a div positioned using position: fixed. Unfortunately good ol' IE doesn't support that either

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    2,301
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i was thinking of the possability of using a static block at the bottom of the page as a navigation bar - like sitepoint thing at the top with build, profit, promote etc..
    static so it's always there - but it's not looking so feasable from what you say. if a significant number of people can't see static bars then it's no good really i spose :/
    thanks for the reply. i'll have a look at that link now

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    2,301
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hang-on a cotten picking minute though - have a look at this page:

    http://www.w3.org/Style/CSS/

    in the top right there's a static (although not so attractive) menu. they've got a picture in it as well which is exactly what i'm after

    does that work in most browsers?

    works for me - mac ie5

  8. #8
    Grumpy Mole Man Skunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Lawrence, Kansas
    Posts
    2,067
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Unfortunately it doesn't work in IE on Windows (5 or 6) due to IE not suporting position: fixed. There is a javascript hack which fixes IE on windows' support but can look a bit jerky, check it out here:

    http://and.doxdesk.com/software/js/fixed.html

  9. #9
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    2,301
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i see. that's a shame
    what happens in ie 5 and 6 on windows? does the code automatically provide those browsers with an alternative usual menu that scrolls with the page?


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •