SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    houston
    Posts
    177
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    nagging overflow won't go away! I think anyway....

    Ok this should be so easy.

    http://www.adamtelco.com/at-t-synaps...y-handset.html

    two columns driven by a table. The left side set to exactly 390 and the right set to 610.

    The issue is the additional information table on the left side.
    In FF everything works great, but in IE the links in that box absolutely will not wrap.

    On one computer of mine in IE, the box completely overflows onto the right hand column. On another it simply pushes the right side over.

    Anyone got any ideas here?

  2. #2
    Theoretical Physics Student bronze trophy Jake Arkinstall's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Lancaster University, UK
    Posts
    7,062
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Try giving the table cells a max-width. That seemed to do the trick in Firebug.
    Jake Arkinstall
    "Sometimes you don't need to reinvent the wheel;
    Sometimes its enough to make that wheel more rounded"-Molona

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    houston
    Posts
    177
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    nothing seems to be solving the issue. sheesh

  4. #4
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    houston
    Posts
    177
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    im starting to think it's just the content period..

    i guess i can shorten the urls.. but i dont usnderstand why they wont wrap...

    here's another http://www.adamtelco.com/intellitouc...ld-player.html

  5. #5
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    40,367
    Mentioned
    180 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Hi,

    Try this:
    Code:
    .data-table{word-wrap:break-word}
    If that doesn't wrap then you may need to insert a div inside the td and apply the rule to the div instead.

    No browsers handle unbroken text very well and word-wrap:break-word is part of css3 but has been proprietary in Ie for years although it is a bit buggy in tables.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    houston
    Posts
    177
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I tried that to no avail. in both ways. in the css file and directly to a div tag inside the TD

  7. #7
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    houston
    Posts
    177
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    grr

  8. #8
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    houston
    Posts
    177
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    there has just gotta be something im missing

  9. #9
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    houston
    Posts
    177
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i guess i could shorten every url that is shows.. thats a lot of work though.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    houston
    Posts
    177
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok changing like so...

    Code:
    <td class="data" width="273"><div style="width:249px;">DATA</div></td>
    Worked in IE 8 on my win 7 box but on my xp box in IE8, the words wrap but the box itself is still as long as it was.. its so weird!

  11. #11
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    houston
    Posts
    177
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    this is the dumbest thing i have ever seen!

  12. #12
    Theoretical Physics Student bronze trophy Jake Arkinstall's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Lancaster University, UK
    Posts
    7,062
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You could set overflow to ellipsis. That will add '...' for anything overflowing.
    Jake Arkinstall
    "Sometimes you don't need to reinvent the wheel;
    Sometimes its enough to make that wheel more rounded"-Molona

  13. #13
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    houston
    Posts
    177
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    do you mean by physically shortening the visible portion of the url?

  14. #14
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    houston
    Posts
    177
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    dood.. i think you just bonked it right on the boggin!

  15. #15
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    houston
    Posts
    177
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Code:
    .data-table .shorten {overflow: hidden; text-overflow:ellipsis; width:249px; white-space:normal;}

    Code:
    <td class="data" width="273"><div class="shorten">the goods</div></td>

  16. #16
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,623
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Also try to avoid posting every 4 minutes, edit your posts if you must add something on, although I'm glad you got it working
    Always looking for web design/development work.
    http://www.CodeFundamentals.com

  17. #17
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    houston
    Posts
    177
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    lol.. it's like having a conversation in my head... sometimes theres just that extra thought.

  18. #18
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    40,367
    Mentioned
    180 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by plasma800 View Post
    I tried that to no avail. in both ways. in the css file and directly to a div tag inside the TD
    That's strange because I copied your whole page locally and tested out before posting and it worked in all versions of IE and looked exactly like Firefox!

    The table probably also needed "table-layout:fixed" added to it to make the words wrap and to adhere to the column widths.

    Glad you got something working although ellipses clips the content but I guess that's not a problem.

  19. #19
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    houston
    Posts
    177
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yeah matter of fact, I like the content clipped a little I think. They are just links


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •