SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Northwood, Middlesex, North-West London, U.K.
    Posts
    75
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Sub-sites on 1 Host-Account

    Hi all, thanks in advance.

    I have a basic/bronze hosting account with "Zen Internet" in the UK. And domains with both them, and "Heart Internet"in the UK. Zen allows 3 CMS instances on the account.

    My budget is small, so I'd like to see if I could kludge 3 sites/domains on the the hosting account.

    So something like: Domain 1 would go to /{root}
    Domain 2 would go to /1/index.php
    Domain 3 would go to /2/index.php

    I've tried and failed, how can this be done? (Preferably with the least SEO disadvantage possible(. Somewhere in the DNS records I hope/suspect?
    Avanti Computer Services
    ----------------------------------
    If you need Computer Repair or Support in Northwood, Middlesex
    contact Avanti Computer Services today!

  2. #2
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    14
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you've got cPanel it can be done in the panel under addon domains IIRC.
    Or there's the option of putting a redirect on an index file on the domain folder.
    And of course there's the option of redirect/url mask on the domain provider end.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    14
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Looking at their site it does not look like they offer cPanel. Do they offer any control panel at all? Does the server run on Apache? If so, then this can be done with .htaccess.

    Basically you would need to rewrite each domain to the sub-folder it is in. Here is the correct way to do it. Should not affect SEO, as it is not visible to the search engine.

    RewriteEngine On
    RewriteBase /
    RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} !^/1/
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} domain1.com$
    RewriteRule ^(.*)$ 1/$1 [L]

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Northwood, Middlesex, North-West London, U.K.
    Posts
    75
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi all
    Thanks for your time.

    The Host (Zen) does give cPanel for all accounts, but only allows the proper multi-domain "addon domains IIRC" with the more expensive account.
    So this is intended as a 'kludge' until I can afford that.

    I was thinking of trying something in the DNS "A Records" like "IPaddress/site2.html"
    But jphilipson your solution sounds good! I will try it and report back.

    Thank you
    Avanti Computer Services
    ----------------------------------
    If you need Computer Repair or Support in Northwood, Middlesex
    contact Avanti Computer Services today!

  5. #5
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    302
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think you can call them or send request to set those redirects to you. If your account have such privileges They are supposed to do that for you.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Northwood, Middlesex, North-West London, U.K.
    Posts
    75
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    jphilipson thank you! that worked liked a charm!
    First time! No 301s shown by "LiveHTTPheaders".
    I even got seperate 404 pages for each domain!

    Am I right in saying that cPanel would normally achieve the same, simply by being a GUI that re-writes .htaccess? Or does cPanel have some other method?

    Excellent stuff.

    You don't happen to know about using .htaccess to fix a Joomla install that dies when you switch on "Search Engine Friendly" slugs by any chance?
    Again, very grateful.

    Problem details here:
    http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=429&t=271082
    http://www.bowlerhatsolutions.co.uk/...to-joomla.html
    Avanti Computer Services
    ----------------------------------
    If you need Computer Repair or Support in Northwood, Middlesex
    contact Avanti Computer Services today!


Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •