SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Hybrid View

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

From Access to My SQL

I have recently changed my Reseller account and in the process of changing all my domains across. I used to have a database folder on my old host where I put my access files in.

Now I have been told that I have to upload my database in a different way, to which I have no knowledge of.

Ive gone through the exercise of ringing them up but they just keep sending me a web address and saying , erm well i can't helpyou anymore http://www.hosteurope-support.com/mysql.html

Is it better to connect to Connecting to MySQL via SSH Telnet? or

Connecting to MySQL using MyODBC and an ODBC database

You can tie a database written in a PC based database package that is ODBC compliant - Microsoft Access, FoxBase and Dbase Pro are all ODBC compliant. To integrate this connection you will require drivers that convert the communication - you can download these drivers from Windows 95, Windows 98 and Windows NT from http://www.mysql.com/downloads/api-myodbc.html.

The settings that you will require are:-

Hostname - Your domain name
    MySQL database name - the name of the database
    Username - database username
    Password - database password
    Port - 3306

SQL Consultant gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    Mentioned
    60 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    http://www.hosteurope-support.com/mysql.html seems to be saying (i didn't read it very carefully) that mysql can get at data stored in msaccess databases via some odbc drivers

what's your programming language? php?
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL
    "giving out my real stuffs"

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    check out dbtools
    http://www.dbtools.com.br/

it lets you export to mysql from access. it will generate the necessary SQL for you to then pass to Mysql on the server.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)