SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    224
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    How to get one div above another

    Hi there,

    I'm trying to customise my tumblr page and have added a new div to the very top of the page but the main div that was already on there sits on top of my new one.

    This is the CSS for my new div

    Code:
    #topcontent {
    	clear: both;
    	float: left;
    	width: 50%;
    	border: 1px solid #000066;
    	font-family: Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
    	font-size: large;
    	color: #CC3300;
    	background-color: #CCCCFF;
    	margin-left: 20px;
    	height: 180px;
    	margin-top: 45px;
    	padding-top: 6px;
    	padding-left: 6px;
    }
    It also connects to an external CSS file that I can't edit but the main container DIV has this CSS

    Code:
    #main_column{
    	position:absolute;
    	left:30px;
    	top:30px;
    	width:800px;
    I just can't see where the problem is, can you help?
    Thanks

    PS. The page is @ tezdread@tumblr.com if you want to see it in full...

  2. #2
    SitePoint Addict AdRock952's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    243
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It's becuase your #main_column is set to position:absolute

    Also that link is an email link

  3. #3
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    224
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ah...is there anyway of adding additional CSS to the page directly that will change #main_column so I'm able to add a new DIV above it as I'm unable to change the linked CSS file?

    meant to be tezdread.tumblr.com

    thanks

  4. #4
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    224
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What would the #main_column position need to be in order to get my div on the top of the page?

    I can simply copy the CSS into another file change it and link to the new CSS file instead of the current one...

    thanks

  5. #5
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    224
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ok that has problems with it for some reason after I copied everything from the external CSS file into a new file and linked the page to that file and now it's all over the place

  6. #6
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    224
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    sok I've sorted it


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •