SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question Dreamweaver bug or my mistake?

    I am working on a website with templates in Macromedia MX for over a month now. I had no problem saving and updating the template until yesterday.
    It still updates fine except that it transforms one of my links into a funny link:
    http://www.mysithttp://www.mysiteurl.com

    I checked the template and the link is errorles, but all the pages that contain the template have this extra url snippet.

    Can anyone tell me what's going on and how can I get rid of it?

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It sounds like it's a link that doesn't have the http:// on the front of it in the code itself.

    Take a look at the source code to see. If that's not it, then please post the actual code here for us to look at.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This is the codeline in the template:

    <td width="90"><a href="http://www.promotionsforyou.com/Business.htm" onMouseOut="MM_swapImgRestore()" onMouseOver="MM_swapImage('nav4','','http://www.promotionsforyou.com/images/navcircle4a.gif',1)"><img src="http://www.promotionsforyou.com/IMAGES/navcircle4.gif" width="90" height="119" name="nav4" border="0" onMouseDown="MM_goToURL('parent','http://www.promotionsforyou.com/Business.htm');return document.MM_returnValue" alt="valuable business links"></a></td>



    This is the result in the pages that contain the template (see URL in line #2):

    <td width="90"><a href="http://www.promothttp://www.promotionsforyou.com/Business.htm" onMouseOut="MM_swapImgRestore()" onMouseOver="MM_swapImage('nav4','','http://www.promotionsforyou.com/images/navcircle4a.gif',1)"><img src="http://www.promotionsforyou.com/IMAGES/navcircle4.gif" width="90" height="119" name="nav4" border="0" onMouseDown="MM_goToURL('parent','http://www.promotionsforyou.com/Business.htm');return document.MM_returnValue"alt="valuable business links"></a></td>

  4. #4
    SitePoint Addict psychedelic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    284
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    in ALL links with a "www" and a ".com" after it, you MUST put "http://" at the front it.

    To avoid this problem, just link it as /Business.htm it is a local link right?
    The Internet is prettier on a Mac.

  5. #5
    Perl/Mason Guru Flawless_koder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Gatwick, UK
    Posts
    1,206
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    .oO( or to avoid this problem - write the code yourself )

    * is being cynical again *

    Flawless
    ---=| If you're going to buy a pet - get a Shetland Giraffe |=---

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That hurt...Flawless
    I thought the point of using a template is so you don't need to code everything yourself, save time blah, blah blah...
    Anyhow I am always coding my links along with a lot more by hand inside the HTML doc because I don't trust the program screwing with my page. Don't tell me when someone is using Dreamweaver that only uses the code view....

    So here is the update, help me figure this out: I updated my link to \Business.htm (by hand) and saved the template along with the rest of the pages it updated. Here is the result in the pages that contains the template (see line one for error. It seems to me that the problem is not with the coding itself but when it saved:

    <td width="90"><a href="/Business.htm" on/Business.htm" onMouseOut="MM_swapImgRestore()" onMouseOver="MM_swapImage..........

  7. #7
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    A "question" to psychedelic:
    all the links with www. in the begining and .com at the end I place an http:// in front. (coded by hand and rechecked in codes before saving making sure it wasn't altered by the program it's a pretty basic thing that has to be done...right?). Still I get this error. What else could it be?

  8. #8
    SitePoint Addict psychedelic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    284
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It might be a bug, I dunno. I still use Dreamweaver 4. We're not getting the mx upgrade until the fall with the fall budget. I use dreamweaver to create quick killer layouts using tables. Then I fix the code by hand using the code viewer thingy or another text editor. I usually opt for the other.


    With Dreamweaver templates, you still have to re-upload your entire site if you redesign it or something. You might in interested in SSI or php includes or something to do templates.

    It's strange if you ARE putting a http:// in front of it. It shouldn't do that.

    I just ran across a thought.

    Does this work for you?
    Code:
    <td width="90"><a href="/Business.htm" on/Business.htm" onMouseOut="MM_swapImgRestore()" onMouseOver="MM_swapImage..........
    I have suspicions about the bolded part, I don't think that should be there. Did dreamweaver add that?

    Also, try going into your site definitions and see if you defined something that has to do with linking.I'm not sure if they would do this with mx though. I've heard of WYSIWYG editors that went through the stie and place a prefix like "http://www.mydomain.com" in all your links because it thinks it'll work that way.

    Worse comes to worse, save your document, open it up in Notepad or SimpleText and then do a search and replace to fix your links.
    The Internet is prettier on a Mac.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well, that bold text is exactly the problem. It is not in the template but it appears in all the other documents. As I change the link from a whole URL only to a relative path it changes with it. It almost behaves like MS Word when it has a fit. Plus only in one link out of over 20 and then it trickles down in all my pages as I save the template. The pain is that I set up the template for the navigational buttons in the first place so I don't need to edit all the pages. Now I am back to zero.

    I agree with you on the WYSWYG editors. I find it hard to work with them sometimes. I found Dreamweaver to be the best, and I absolutely hate Front Page for instance. Most of the time I fix all my stuff in Notepad. But I am very visual so I need to see what I code too. That is where I rely on Dreamweaver.

    Maybe you are right...I should try something else...
    I took this site over from an outsourced company that did a lousy job on coding and design. I am still struggling to fix it. Talking about using WYSWYG.

    I used to use D4 and then downloaded the MX version and found it much easier to work with. Until now....

  10. #10
    SitePoint Addict psychedelic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    284
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    reinstall mx. that might help. I honestly haven't heard of this problem before except in your case.

    Even if dreamweaver inserts weird funky code, can you fix it with a search and replace? for example, if the changes it makes are consistent throughout your entire site, you can do a search and replace on your entire site to kill it. just a thought. search and replace can be fatal if implemented incorrectly though. Just a warning.

    If you're interested in SSI, search the forums or open a new thread
    The Internet is prettier on a Mac.

  11. #11
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok, I try an reinstall. Maybe I have problems with properties somewhere.

    Yes, I definitely will try to explore the possibilities with CSS.

    Thank you.
    M

  12. #12
    SitePoint Addict psychedelic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    284
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by mariakovacs
    Yes, I definitely will try to explore the possibilities with CSS.
    You're welcome. And it's SSI, not CSS.
    The Internet is prettier on a Mac.

  13. #13
    Perl/Mason Guru Flawless_koder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Gatwick, UK
    Posts
    1,206
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    wasn't meant to hurt.

    Flawless
    ---=| If you're going to buy a pet - get a Shetland Giraffe |=---


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •