SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict dr_dumb99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Pakistan
    Posts
    304
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question How to import "Employees" sample database in WAMP

    Hi!
    I want ot import "Employees" sample database. Iam have tried following two files to import with same result. Files are :
    - employees.sql
    - employees_partitioned.sql

    Iam receving followin error:
    Code:
    Query:
    source load_departments.dump 
    
    Error occured at:2010-04-27 10:07:33
    Line no.:108
    Error Code: 1064 - You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near 'source load_departments.dump' at line 1
    Iam using WAMP version (2.0) and Mysql version (5.1.36)


    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    From Italy with love silver trophybronze trophy
    guido2004's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    9,500
    Mentioned
    163 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)
    What exactly do you do to import these files?

  3. #3
    SitePoint Addict dr_dumb99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Pakistan
    Posts
    304
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    All "employees" database -> (Tables + data)

  4. #4
    From Italy with love silver trophybronze trophy
    guido2004's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    9,500
    Mentioned
    163 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)
    No, I mean how do you do it technically.
    Do you use PHPMyAdmin? A PHP script?
    What command/query do you run?

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Try to empty the database before importing your sql sample file.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Addict dr_dumb99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Pakistan
    Posts
    304
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    1- Iam using SQLYOG for importing MYSQL dump.
    2- I deleted the 'employess' database and recreated it from scratch, still getting same error.

  7. #7
    From Italy with love silver trophybronze trophy
    guido2004's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    9,500
    Mentioned
    163 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)
    I don't know sqlyog, but from their site it seems to me you pay for it. Don't they give some support?

    Do you use some option (button or whatever) to do the import? Or do you run a query? What query?

  8. #8
    SitePoint Addict dr_dumb99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Pakistan
    Posts
    304
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Same problem in PhpMyAdmin also

  9. #9
    From Italy with love silver trophybronze trophy
    guido2004's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    9,500
    Mentioned
    163 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)
    Yeah, well, if you just ignore my questions, I won't be able to help you.
    Maybe someone else.
    Goodluck

  10. #10
    SQL Consultant gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    r937's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    39,263
    Mentioned
    60 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    okay, somebody else

    please show the first dozen or so lines of the sql file that you attempted to run in phpmyadmin
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL
    "giving out my real stuffs"


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •