SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot pony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    170
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    xhtml strict and frames

    OK, I'm working on some content that has to validate as XHTML1.0 Strict. This content is being presented using frames (don't ask, please just don't ask ).
    Now, when my content contains links to external sites I want to break out of the frames so I use the 'target' attribute with a value "_top". The problem is that this doesn't validate in XHTML1.0 Strict.

    Anyone out there know a way round this without getting rid of the frames (if only) or moving to XHTML1.0 Transitional.
    the bottoms of my shoes are clean from walking in the rain

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard iTec's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,243
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    case of curiosity here, how come you can use frames but you cant use transitional?

    I know you said not to ask.. but im a cat with a death wish

    as for your answer, could you not use javascript to open the link in a new window or you dont want that?

  3. #3
    Hosting Team Leader silver trophybronze trophy
    cpradio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    5,252
    Mentioned
    161 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    try using javascript:parent.location = 'links.htm';

  4. #4
    SitePoint Zealot pony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    170
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanks guys but I'm pretty sure that will be ruled offside as well
    the bottoms of my shoes are clean from walking in the rain

  5. #5
    ********* Genius zweistein's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Croatia
    Posts
    290
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Shouldn't you use "Frameset" DTD when you use frames? May be stupid, but I think I read it somewhere... Try that one.
    zweistein.web - tips&tricks for webmasters, music, programming, computers, Python, etc. new!!! English version, too!
    email | ICQ: 161202879 | AIM: zweistein2169

  6. #6
    SitePoint Zealot pony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    170
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think the Frameset DTD is only for the Frameset page.

    On the javascript issue. I've been reminded by a colleague quoting from a dog eared content guidance doc that the reason we dont't use javascript for links is to allow for the possibility that users may not have javascript enabled.
    the bottoms of my shoes are clean from walking in the rain

  7. #7
    SitePoint Zealot pony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    170
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Given all the strictures this one has been deemed unfixable round here. So they've decided to go with Transitional.
    Hurrah!

    I still wish they'd just get rid of the frames though.
    the bottoms of my shoes are clean from walking in the rain

  8. #8
    ********* Genius zweistein's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Croatia
    Posts
    290
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by pony
    I think the Frameset DTD is only for the Frameset page.
    Ooops... I obviously missed the point here... When you define the frames, do you use the name attribute, or the id attribute as well. Try adding the "id" attribute instead of "name" and try again...
    zweistein.web - tips&tricks for webmasters, music, programming, computers, Python, etc. new!!! English version, too!
    email | ICQ: 161202879 | AIM: zweistein2169


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •