SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 23 of 23
  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard nofel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,766
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    a:active state not working?

    hey folks,
    i m working on a website currently in development. i have a problem. or should i two of them. first is that my a:active property isn't working and secondly that the i have a div for footer. when i insert a another div inside footer div for text format. the div gets too big and ugly. here is there link
    All those who wander aren't lost.

  2. #2
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,564
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi, when you use the :active psuedo class, you must also set link, visited, and hover. You have to go in order
    Code:
    a:link{}
    a:visited{}
    a:hover{}
    a:active{border:1px solid red;}
    Please be more descriptive about the footer issue . I don't understand a word you're saying other then something gets big and ugly
    Twitter-@Ryan_Reese09
    http://www.ryanreese.us -Always looking for web design/development work

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard nofel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,766
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ryan i did according to your say i,e psuedo class. however i am unable to get a a:active effect. i want a image which i created when page is active. i was able to use it on hover state but that was too when around the text. not as a whole block. a example is like hovering over site point menu.
    about that footer if you see it in IE. there footer have space and i want the footer text to sit on bottom of the image which isn't being applied too
    All those who wander aren't lost.

  4. #4
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,564
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well I tested myt solution out myself so you must have done something wrong or changed hte page from what I had orignally seen.
    It works. I just tested again.

    Also, you do realize :active refers to the event of a user holding down a click (not unpressed)
    Code:
    a:link{}
    a:visited{}
    a:hover{}
    a:active{border:1px solid blue;}
    
    #wrapper
    {
    	padding-bottom:118px;/*footer height*/
    	position:relative;/*set a stacking context for the footer since its AP'd*/
    }
    .footer{left:0;}
    The code is commented.

    I won't even bother explaning (as I've done so in countless of your previous threads) taht you shouldn't design for fixed height resolutions, and the wrapper shouldn't ahve a fixed height.
    Twitter-@Ryan_Reese09
    http://www.ryanreese.us -Always looking for web design/development work

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard nofel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,766
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    the border propety works but when i say background-image it shows just over the text but not as full graphic
    All those who wander aren't lost.

  6. #6
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,564
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    So the backgorund doesn't fully show? Make sure the width/height is enough to make the anchor show. IF that's what you meant
    Twitter-@Ryan_Reese09
    http://www.ryanreese.us -Always looking for web design/development work

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard nofel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,766
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i have updated the css if u see when u hover over links. the links shows only on places where there is text. but i want them at there full height i.e 41px;
    All those who wander aren't lost.

  8. #8
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,564
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi, ignoring hte fact you are using general selectors such as a:hover (for the menu, when it really should be identified as ".menu a:hover", etc), you nneed to set float:left on the anchors

    It will only go 31px height (as you set for the height of .menu) and it won't go the extra 10 pixels because that is padding that you set on .menu and the anchors can't reach that high.
    Twitter-@Ryan_Reese09
    http://www.ryanreese.us -Always looking for web design/development work

  9. #9
    SitePoint Wizard nofel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,766
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    so lets take an example of hover if i make a hover class for a selector named gallery like
    a:hover.gallery{border:5px solid red}
    will it work on any class with a class of gallery and anchor?
    p.s if u see the link. how do i make the text sit on low?
    All those who wander aren't lost.

  10. #10
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,564
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well, it'd be a.galler:hover{} but yes it will work.
    You could fake the bottomness by shifting the background image up more and thus the text will appear to slide down.

    Unless I'm misunderstanding?
    Twitter-@Ryan_Reese09
    http://www.ryanreese.us -Always looking for web design/development work

  11. #11
    SitePoint Wizard nofel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,766
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ah thanks! like always your a life saver!
    All those who wander aren't lost.

  12. #12
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,564
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Glad it helped . I'll assume everything sorted now .
    Twitter-@Ryan_Reese09
    http://www.ryanreese.us -Always looking for web design/development work

  13. #13
    SitePoint Wizard nofel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,766
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    though. if have created a page with thumbnails. now only knowing css and html. how can i open them in _blank window with its own height and width.making sure the image click open in same window as before. in spite of opening new window for every image. is it possible in html or css or JS is only way?
    All those who wander aren't lost.

  14. #14
    SitePoint Wizard nofel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,766
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ryan i just tried as u asked for hover but it didn't work. here is the css
    .galleryimg{width:100px; height:100px; border:#CCC 3px solid; float:left; margin:10px; padding:2px;}
    a.galleryimg:hover{border:#900 3px solid; width:100px; height:100px;}
    All those who wander aren't lost.

  15. #15
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,564
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You could set target="_blank" in the HTML to open a new window thoug hI believe that's deprecated in strict doctypes.\
    Can I have a new link?
    http://pixelndots.org/emaar/test/

    That returns 404 (also when you post, tell me which area)
    Twitter-@Ryan_Reese09
    http://www.ryanreese.us -Always looking for web design/development work

  16. #16
    SitePoint Wizard nofel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,766
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    test is dead. try this
    All those who wander aren't lost.

  17. #17
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,564
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I search your source for a class="galleryimg" in your HTML, since you didn't point me to the area as I requested (I actually just did ctrl+f for "galleryimg" though no results)

    Did you update the HTML with the class?
    Twitter-@Ryan_Reese09
    http://www.ryanreese.us -Always looking for web design/development work

  18. #18
    SitePoint Wizard nofel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,766
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    u can find it under photo gallery page. the a.hover for that class isn't working too
    All those who wander aren't lost.

  19. #19
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,564
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I clicked Photo Gallery in the top nav
    404.
    http://www.pixelndots.org/emaar/gallery.php
    Twitter-@Ryan_Reese09
    http://www.ryanreese.us -Always looking for web design/development work

  20. #20
    SitePoint Wizard nofel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,766
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ah thanks for heads up. now its fixed
    All those who wander aren't lost.

  21. #21
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,564
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Still 404 though, did you mean you fix the problem or the page 404?
    Twitter-@Ryan_Reese09
    http://www.ryanreese.us -Always looking for web design/development work

  22. #22
    SitePoint Wizard nofel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,766
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    All those who wander aren't lost.

  23. #23
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,564
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sorry to be such a hassle but the server is timing out .
    Twitter-@Ryan_Reese09
    http://www.ryanreese.us -Always looking for web design/development work


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •