SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 44
  1. #1
    SitePoint Evangelist ckchin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    msia
    Posts
    487
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    NO right click -> view source.

    Hi,


    Do you like no right click? I hate this. I found certain website that has no right click an dthis make me cannot view the source of it. Yes, If it is a page then I can view it using view -> view source (IE). BUT when come to frame based then I cannot do so.

    Hence, do you have any application that can let me view the source as well, although it is in frame-based. Thanks.

  2. #2
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    420
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    no right click is really stupid.

    A work-around would be to look at the source of the page and find the location of the frame you would like to see, then go to that URL and view > source from there.
    Wavelan

  3. #3
    SitePoint Evangelist ckchin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    msia
    Posts
    487
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Figure it out. Thanks for your idea. Same with you ... no right click is really stupid.

  4. #4
    + platinum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    6,441
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    there's a clicky technique that works too

    need a site to test it on whats the URL?

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast mgsninja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    67
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Remeber that as long as you can view a web page, you can view the source. HTML is plain text after all. And you have to download a page to view it

    If you want the source you can get it with a little work.
    ...

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,617
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by platinum
    there's a clicky technique that works too

    need a site to test it on whats the URL?
    Yup, something along the lines of right - left - hold left - let go of right - let go of left - click right. Not too sure though, I have read it around here somewhere.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard iTec's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,243
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i tried that trick here and got it to work a couple of times


    http://javascript.internet.com/page-...ght-click.html

  8. #8
    SitePoint Guru okrogius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    US
    Posts
    622
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Here's the technique, keep in mind it works only in majority of cases, not all (extra jaascript will disbale it too but few people bother to write this extra code for it).

    Right click. Get the stupid alert window's OK button to be where you want to right click (in case of an image, etc). Click and HOLD right mouse button on the ok button. Without letting go of your right button, left click on the ok button. Now the alert window goes away and you already have your hand holding right click button. Let go of it. There you have the menu!

  9. #9
    1-800-JMULDER JMulder's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,745
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What about the good ol' right-mouse-button key on your keyboard? Works fine for me.

    EDIT: Ok.. that's only for the source
    Jeroen Mulder

    w: www.jeroenmulder.com

  10. #10
    SitePoint Evangelist ckchin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    msia
    Posts
    487
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by Codename49
    Here's the technique, keep in mind it works only in majority of cases, not all (extra jaascript will disbale it too but few people bother to write this extra code for it).

    Right click. Get the stupid alert window's OK button to be where you want to right click (in case of an image, etc). Click and HOLD right mouse button on the ok button. Without letting go of your right button, left click on the ok button. Now the alert window goes away and you already have your hand holding right click button. Let go of it. There you have the menu!
    How about some of them don't even have the small alert window? Do you have any idea to solve it?

  11. #11
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    128
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You could just click "File", "Save As...", and then open the page on your computer in the text/HTML editor of your choice...


  12. #12
    SitePoint Evangelist ckchin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    msia
    Posts
    487
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by GTPlanet.net
    You could just click "File", "Save As...", and then open the page on your computer in the text/HTML editor of your choice...
    Yes. BUT, this is double work because waht I want to see the source codes is to read the download link resided in the source code, and no really want the codes.

  13. #13
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The easiest way is to get the file you want from your internet temporary file folder, it holds all the files of all the pages you have visited.

  14. #14
    + platinum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    6,441
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by ckchin
    Yes. BUT, this is double work because waht I want to see the source codes is to read the download link resided in the source code, and no really want the codes.
    examples...examples

  15. #15
    My precious!!! astericks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    1,971
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by ckchin
    Yes. BUT, this is double work because waht I want to see the source codes is to read the download link resided in the source code, and no really want the codes.
    Right Click > Copy shortcut

    and then paste whereever you want.

    asT.

  16. #16
    SitePoint Evangelist ckchin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    msia
    Posts
    487
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by astericks


    Right Click > Copy shortcut

    and then paste whereever you want.

    asT.
    The question is I cannot right click!

  17. #17
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy TheOriginalH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    4,810
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sure you can!

    In Opera : F12, "e"

    In IE:

    Tools->Internet Options->Security->Custom Level->Scroll down the list->Disable active scripting.



    ....

    I prefer the Opera method
    ~The Artist Latterly Known as Crazy Hamster~
    922ee590a26bd62eb9b33cf2877a00df
    Currently delving into Django, GIT & CentOS

  18. #18
    SitePoint Guru okrogius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    US
    Posts
    622
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by ckchin
    How about some of them don't even have the small alert window? Do you have any idea to solve it?
    Save the page to your hardrive (copy and paste the url into your favorite download program) and edit the javascript out; ot, disable javascript suppor tin your browser temporarily.

  19. #19
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy TheOriginalH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    4,810
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by Codename49
    disable javascript suppor tin your browser temporarily.
    ...or permenantly
    ~The Artist Latterly Known as Crazy Hamster~
    922ee590a26bd62eb9b33cf2877a00df
    Currently delving into Django, GIT & CentOS

  20. #20
    Your Lord and Master, Foamy gold trophy Hierophant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Lancaster, Ca. USA
    Posts
    12,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you cannot view the source by choosing it from the menu, then you have too many files in your Temporary Internet Folder Cache. You will need to empty this folder to restore that functionality.
    Wayne Luke
    ------------


  21. #21
    Hosting Team Leader silver trophybronze trophy
    cpradio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    5,118
    Mentioned
    152 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Everyone seems to miss the obvious just use this:

    Type the following into the address bar
    view-source:http://mysite.com/page.html

  22. #22
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy TheOriginalH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    4,810
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by cpradio
    Everyone seems to miss the obvious just use this:

    Type the following into the address bar
    view-source:http://mysite.com/page.html
    IE only? Doesn't work in Opera....
    ~The Artist Latterly Known as Crazy Hamster~
    922ee590a26bd62eb9b33cf2877a00df
    Currently delving into Django, GIT & CentOS

  23. #23
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    128
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by cpradio
    Everyone seems to miss the obvious just use this:

    Type the following into the address bar
    view-source:http://mysite.com/page.html
    Wow! That's a neat trick I never knew existed!


  24. #24
    Hosting Team Leader silver trophybronze trophy
    cpradio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    5,118
    Mentioned
    152 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by TheOriginalH


    IE only? Doesn't work in Opera....
    Are you sure it doesnt work in Opera? I am semi-positive it works in NS, I know it works in IE, and I believe it works in Modzillia.

  25. #25
    SitePoint Addict dpickup's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    206
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by cpradio
    Everyone seems to miss the obvious just use this:

    Type the following into the address bar
    view-source:http://mysite.com/page.html
    Neat trick, never knew about that one. Thanks for the tip.

    I hate the 'no right click' javascript, especially when the site pairs it with some really obnoxious message. Mainly I use it for the 'back' function and don't need some twit telling me I "don't have permission" to use my mouse.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •