SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    698
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question Apache 2.2, PHP 5.2, Port 8080 Issues

    Hi guys,

    I've stumbled across a problem yesterday with a web-app that I installed at a local company a year ago. It was running on port 80 as normal and has been for a year with no problems, but they were running it on unsuitable hardware. It has now been moved to a server but this server is already running IIS on port 80 so the admin has set Apache running on 8080.

    The site displays no problems, but when I try to log in it just returns me to the login page. There are no messages to say that the login was successful or otherwise as the app should do.

    I changed my local testing copy to 8080 and I had the same problem. Put it back to 80 and the login would work as expected; ie it would either log me on properly or it would display a login-failed page.

    Has anyone any idea why this would be happening and how to resolve it?

    Cheers

  2. #2
    Certified Ethical Hacker silver trophybronze trophy dklynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    14,672
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    Antnee,

    Without more information, I'd have to GUESS that your application specifically used port 80 ... or rather does NOT use :8080 after the localhost (or other domain). That's to be expected when you move Apache to 8080 so check your app for ABSOLUTE links.

    Regards,

    DK
    David K. Lynn - Data Koncepts is a long-time WebHostingBuzz (US/UK)
    Client and (unpaid) WHB Ambassador
    mod_rewrite Tutorial Article (setup, config, test & write
    mod_rewrite regex w/sample code) and Code Generator

  3. #3
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    698
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I wrote the app and I definitely don't recall specifying post 80 anywhere. I wondered if it'd be a PHP/Apache configuration thing but I'll be damned if I can find out where it is

  4. #4
    Certified Ethical Hacker silver trophybronze trophy dklynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    14,672
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    Antnee,

    The point is that you do NOT need to specify Port 80 anywhere, merely http://{whatever} as the HTTP protocol uses port 80 automatically. To use port 8080, you MUST use http://{whatever}:8080. So, as above, look in your app for an absolute URL and append the correct port number to the domain.

    It's either that or shut down that POS IIE and let Apache use port 80.

    Regards,

    DK
    David K. Lynn - Data Koncepts is a long-time WebHostingBuzz (US/UK)
    Client and (unpaid) WHB Ambassador
    mod_rewrite Tutorial Article (setup, config, test & write
    mod_rewrite regex w/sample code) and Code Generator

  5. #5
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    698
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Every time that an absolute URL is called in the app it takes it from a constant, which is set to (for example) http://server:8080/ so that should be sufficient, shouldn't it? Would there be problems with relative URLs?

  6. #6
    Certified Ethical Hacker silver trophybronze trophy dklynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    14,672
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    Antnee,

    There shouldn't be any problems with relative URIs so long as you've used port 8080 to get to that script. What about any supporting scripts ... like a login?

    Regards,

    DK
    David K. Lynn - Data Koncepts is a long-time WebHostingBuzz (US/UK)
    Client and (unpaid) WHB Ambassador
    mod_rewrite Tutorial Article (setup, config, test & write
    mod_rewrite regex w/sample code) and Code Generator

  7. #7
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    698
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'll double check them, but I'm sure they still use the absolute constant that the rest of the site uses. Thanks for the pointers. I'll see what I can work out


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •