SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard holmescreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Northwest Florida
    Posts
    1,707
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Table Guides in Layers?

    I was wondering if someone knows how to turn on table guides in a DHTML layer?

  2. #2
    Sultan of Ping jofa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    SvÝ■jˇ­
    Posts
    4,080
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    table guides = ?

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard holmescreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Northwest Florida
    Posts
    1,707
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yeah, I've developed a WYSIWYG editor that uses a DHTML layer for editing the content.

    I'd like to be able to display guides for the tables that are inserted, not the borders themselves. I've seen other WYSIWYG editors do this.

    Attached is a snapshot from one of these editors with the guides toggled on.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #4
    Sultan of Ping jofa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    SvÝ■jˇ­
    Posts
    4,080
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    So, this is not what you want?

    function toggle(objTable)
    {
    (objTable.getAttribute("border") == "0") ? objTable.setAttribute("border", "1") : objTable.setAttribute("border", "0");
    }

  5. #5
    Sultan of Ping jofa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    SvÝ■jˇ­
    Posts
    4,080
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Maybe you could create layers with the same positions and sizes as the table cells and make them visible/hidden?

  6. #6
    The doctor is in... silver trophy MarcusJT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    London
    Posts
    3,509
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I suspect that you're using the MSHTML IE5+ DHTMLEdit control - if so, then do this (where EditLayer is the name of your WYSIWYG control):

    Code:
    function ToggleShowBorders()
    {
    	EditLayer.ShowBorders = !EditLayer.ShowBorders;
    }
    MarcusJT
    - former ASP web developer / former SPF "ASP Guru"
    - *very* old blog with some useful ASP code

    - Please think, Google, and search these forums before posting!

  7. #7
    Sultan of Ping jofa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    SvÝ■jˇ­
    Posts
    4,080
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by M@rco
    ...the MSHTML IE5+ DHTMLEdit control
    Looks interesting - more info?

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard holmescreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Northwest Florida
    Posts
    1,707
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by M@rco
    I suspect that you're using the MSHTML IE5+ DHTMLEdit control - if so, then do this (where EditLayer is the name of your WYSIWYG control):

    Code:
    function ToggleShowBorders()
    {
    	EditLayer.ShowBorders = !EditLayer.ShowBorders;
    }

    I'll give it a try!

  9. #9
    The doctor is in... silver trophy MarcusJT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    London
    Posts
    3,509
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    MarcusJT
    - former ASP web developer / former SPF "ASP Guru"
    - *very* old blog with some useful ASP code

    - Please think, Google, and search these forums before posting!


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •