SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Guru Todd Temple's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    797
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    IE6 Fix For Collapsing DIV

    LINK-
    http://www.tocdocs.com/index.030510.html

    Can someone tell me what I can add to my CSS so that this page will render properly? I am wanting to show the entire text inside the orange DIV. Works fine in IE7 and IE8.

    Thanks in advance!
    Todd
    Todd Temple > T2 Design

  2. #2
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,319
    Mentioned
    462 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Not working in FF either!

    Remove height: 100% from the container. (That's working against you here, as it's preventing overflow: hidden from working. The div doesn't see the floated content, so thinks height 100% is very short.)

  3. #3
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,750
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi, try removing the height set here .
    Code:
    <div style="background-color: #FF9900; color: #000;border-radius:5px; padding: 8px 20px;-moz-border-radius: 5px; -webkit-border-radius: 5px;margin:5px;overflow:hidden;clear:both;height:100&#37;;">
    Always looking for web design/development work.
    http://www.CodeFundamentals.com

  4. #4
    SitePoint Guru Todd Temple's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    797
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I removed the height property and it works decently in IE7 and IE8 but still does not contain all of the floats in IE6. Any ideas as to why?

    Same link.
    Todd Temple > T2 Design

  5. #5
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,319
    Mentioned
    462 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Maybe try giving that containing div haslayout. Try

    width: 790px;

    and see if that does anything. May be a pixel or two out, so adjust to suit.

  6. #6
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,750
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi, yes what Ralph said will work. It was working in IE6 before because the height gives it haslayout and thus it contained it.

    Either giving it a width, or zoom:1; or any other haslayout trigger will work .

    PS-Move all that inline CSS to external fiels
    Always looking for web design/development work.
    http://www.CodeFundamentals.com


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •