SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Hillsborough NH
    Posts
    80
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    IE 6 Container Layout Bugs - Please Help

    Good afternoon everyone,

    I am having a bear of a time here.....I am working up this new layout for a client and I have got the thing working in EVERYTHING except for you, yes you guessed it IE6.

    The problem here is that the Header and Footer of the site look just fine, but it's the main content that seems to be the issue here as it's being shoved out by what looks like 20 pixels or so. Anyone have any ideas on how I can get this to work the way I want it to in IE6? I have included a screen shot from IE6 to show you what I mean....

    http://firsttracksmarketing.com/client/nedd/

    Many thanks.

    Matt
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Matt Nelson
    Nelson Design Studios
    www.nelsondesignstudios.com

  2. #2
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,114
    Mentioned
    448 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    I'm not seeing that in IE6.
    Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | Web Design Tips | Free Contact Form

    Forum Usage: Tips on posting code samples, images and more

    Forrest Gump: "IE is like a box of chocolates: you never know what you're gonna get."

  3. #3
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,564
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi, are you sure this is IE6? Make sure your cache is cleared because this effect is not happening for me
    Twitter-@Ryan_Reese09
    http://www.ryanreese.us -Always looking for web design/development work

  4. #4
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    40,283
    Mentioned
    179 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Looks ok to me also (apart fom the transparent pngs of course).

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Hillsborough NH
    Posts
    80
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Guys,

    Thanks for the replies! I actually ended up fixing the alignment issues I posted about before......but now I have the whole transparent PNG issue and the negative margin I have on the "HomeSlider" container isn't working in IE6, any ideas about that?

    Thanks,
    Matt Nelson
    Nelson Design Studios
    www.nelsondesignstudios.com

  6. #6
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,564
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I bet it was the double float margin bug (I noticed the issue would appear if the displayh:inline; there on the parent wasn't there )
    The PNG issue is because IE6 doesn't even support transparency on PNG images
    http://www.twinhelix.com/css/iepngfix/

    I'll look into the negative margin issue
    Twitter-@Ryan_Reese09
    http://www.ryanreese.us -Always looking for web design/development work

  7. #7
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,564
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi, if I manually set it in my local copy then it is working, it seems to not be reading the negative top margin for some reason
    Twitter-@Ryan_Reese09
    http://www.ryanreese.us -Always looking for web design/development work

  8. #8
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,564
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You seem to be calling it wrongly (somehow?). If I do this
    Code:
    <link href="http://firsttracksmarketing.com/client/nedd/css/NEDD-Home.css" rel="stylesheet" 
    
    type="text/css" />
    Aka an absolute URI, it works. Don't know what's going on here as of yet
    Twitter-@Ryan_Reese09
    http://www.ryanreese.us -Always looking for web design/development work

  9. #9
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Hillsborough NH
    Posts
    80
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok, so I tried to implement this PNG fix for IE6 and I followed the instructions and I just can't get it to work.....any ideas here? All I really need is to get my images to come through properly and it just doesn't seem to be working....any help is much appreciated.

    Thanks,

    Matt
    Matt Nelson
    Nelson Design Studios
    www.nelsondesignstudios.com

  10. #10
    Ripe Tomatos silver trophybronze trophy Rayzur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    4,174
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I tried to implement this PNG fix for IE6 and I followed the instructions and I just can't get it to work.....
    Hi,
    Did you get the blank.gif in your image folder and did you edit the .htc file with the correct file path?

    That is step #3 of "How To Use", people often miss that step.

  11. #11
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Hillsborough NH
    Posts
    80
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes I did do that, and I also put in the correct path in my global.css file that has the call for the .htc file and still no succes....
    Matt Nelson
    Nelson Design Studios
    www.nelsondesignstudios.com

  12. #12
    Ripe Tomatos silver trophybronze trophy Rayzur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    4,174
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Try adding the two periods before the forward slash of your file path since the htc file is in your css folder.
    Code:
    // CONFIG: blankImg is the path to blank.gif, *relative to the HTML document*.
    // Try either:
    // * An absolute path like:  '/images/blank.gif'
    // * A path relative to this HTC file like:  thisFolder + 'blank.gif'
    var thisFolder = document.URL.replace(/(\\|\/)[^\\\/]*$/, '/');
    IEPNGFix.blankImg = '../images/global/blank.gif';

  13. #13
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Hillsborough NH
    Posts
    80
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Made the change and unfortunately no dice....

    Any more ideas?

    Thanks
    Matt Nelson
    Nelson Design Studios
    www.nelsondesignstudios.com

  14. #14
    Ripe Tomatos silver trophybronze trophy Rayzur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    4,174
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by NelsonDesigns View Post
    Any more ideas?
    Hi,
    I was playing around with that "Twinhelix pngfix" a while back and I just put everything in one folder called iepng. Even the blank.gif

    Dropshadow Demo with IE6 png fix

    Then I just used a CC for IE6 and I had no problems with it.

    Code:
    <!--[if IE 6]>
    <script type="text/javascript" src="iepng/iepngfix_tilebg.js"></script>
    <style type="text/css">
    img, div { behavior: url(iepng/iepngfix.htc) }
    </style> 
    <![endif]-->
    Then I left the image path in the .htc just like it was from twinhelix

    Code:
    // CONFIG: blankImg is the path to blank.gif, *relative to the HTML document*.
    // Try either:
    // * An absolute path like:  '/images/blank.gif'
    // * A path relative to this HTC file like:  thisFolder + 'blank.gif'
    var thisFolder = document.URL.replace(/(\\|\/)[^\\\/]*$/, '/');
    IEPNGFix.blankImg = thisFolder + 'blank.gif';
    http://www.css-lab.com/demos/rc-shadow/iepng/blank.gif
    http://www.css-lab.com/demos/rc-shad...g/iepngfix.htc
    http://www.css-lab.com/demos/rc-shad...gfix_tilebg.js


  15. #15
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    40,283
    Mentioned
    179 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Hi,

    I copied your page locally and it works straight away using my local htc file so I assume you haven't set the htc permissions correctly on your server (AddType text/x-component .htc)

    You could also try copying everything to a local folder to make sure it's working.


Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •