SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 51 to 75 of 118

Thread: wordpress

  1. #51
    Is Still Alive silver trophybronze trophy RetroNetro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    6,883
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You mean like: 1 2 3 4 ... and so on. Each being a link to the next page in line of the archives?

    That plug in I linked above will produce that. You just need to add the code for it to the archive.php file, upload it and activate it. If I am still not following. I am sorry.

    Let me know.

  2. #52
    SitePoint Wizard rguy84's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Durham, NC
    Posts
    1,659
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Silver you can set the number of results shown on each page by using what ben suggested in post #49. There is a plug in called CQS (Custom Query String) that allows you to adjust the number of posts per various elements of the page. For example, I have my default setting set at 4, however I set the month option (through CQS) to -1 which displays all results for a month. Since the maximum number of posts per month I do is under 10 - I thought that would be logical.

    In post #50, you mention the number of links. Do you mean the numbber of results to display or the number of individual links? For example if a post has 6 links in it do you want it to count as 1 or 6? Are you asking how do you accommodate the number of results per page? At the bottom of most of my pages I have
    PHP Code:
    posts_nav_link(' — '__('« Previous Page'), __('Next Page »')) 
    which shows a previous/next page when appropriate. WP displays this when needed and parses the following pages automagically. Again you can use the plug in Ben mentioned to make it prettier if you wish
    Ryan B | My Blog | Twitter

  3. #53
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    412
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    alright i will use that plugin,

    i know this is the code snippet for an external poll of the latest name of the post but what is the internal one?

    Code:
    <?php echo $post_title; ?>

  4. #54
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    412
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    anyone?

  5. #55
    Is Still Alive silver trophybronze trophy RetroNetro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    6,883
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by silver163 View Post
    alright i will use that plugin,

    i know this is the code snippet for an external poll of the latest name of the post but what is the internal one?

    Code:
    <?php echo $post_title; ?>
    I'm not understanding what you're asking. What are internal/external polls?

  6. #56
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    412
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by BPartch View Post
    I'm not understanding what you're asking. What are internal/external polls?
    Polar Point of Sale

    I got that site with the blog with that template running and if you see there says:

    "latest news" i just want to post the latest blog posts there just giving the title, making each post the link and posting the date that it was posted.

  7. #57
    Is Still Alive silver trophybronze trophy RetroNetro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    6,883
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This will work.
    Code PHP:
    <ul class="ln-list">
    <?php
     $postslist = get_posts('numberposts=4&order=ASC&orderby=date');
     foreach ($postslist as $post) : 
        setup_postdata($post);
     ?>
      <li>
       <div class="ln-calendar"></div>
       <div class="ln-txt">
        <p><?php the_title(); ?></p> 
        <span class="ln-date"><?php the_date(); ?></span>
       </div>
      </li>
    <?php endforeach; ?>
     </ul>
    I made it based on this: http://codex.wordpress.org/Template_...dered_by_title

  8. #58
    Is Still Alive silver trophybronze trophy RetroNetro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    6,883
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ...and you might be able too get rid rid of this: <div class="ln-calendar"></div> by adding the image to the background of the <li>s in your .css and padding the text over by the width of the image + a little more.

  9. #59
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    412
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i see this code:

    Code:
    <?php the_title(); ?>
    but what about the anchor text?

    is that automatically done with the <?php the_title(); ?>

    ?

  10. #60
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    412
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I read on the codex that single.php is the single blog post and if its not present index.php is used but I have single.php

    http://silver163.pastebin.com/EizuYR2v

    but I get this result:

    http://www.polar-pos.com/blog/?p=5

  11. #61
    Is Still Alive silver trophybronze trophy RetroNetro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    6,883
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes <?php the_title(); ?> will display the posts title in the the anchors title attribute.

    Looks like you are missing a closing </div> tag somewhere in there.

  12. #62
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    412
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by BPartch View Post

    Looks like you are missing a closing </div> tag somewhere in there.
    in the screwed up post page or something else?

  13. #63
    Is Still Alive silver trophybronze trophy RetroNetro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    6,883
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    In single.php where you are having the layout issues.

  14. #64
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    412
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by BPartch View Post
    In single.php where you are having the layout issues.
    thanks, how did you figure that out? just knowledge or did you have an analysis tool?

  15. #65
    Is Still Alive silver trophybronze trophy RetroNetro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    6,883
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No prob, I checked the validation errors using this Firefox plug in: http://users.skynet.be/mgueury/mozilla/ another useful tool is: http://getfirebug.com/

  16. #66
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    412
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by BPartch View Post
    No prob, I checked the validation errors using this Firefox plug in: http://users.skynet.be/mgueury/mozilla/ another useful tool is: http://getfirebug.com/
    oh i tried firebug but it confuses me, i asked questions in their mail group but never got any answers. :/

  17. #67
    SitePoint Wizard rguy84's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Durham, NC
    Posts
    1,659
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Also Silver, I noticed you used The_title() two times in your pastebin - did you mean to?
    Ryan B | My Blog | Twitter

  18. #68
    Is Still Alive silver trophybronze trophy RetroNetro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    6,883
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by silver163 View Post
    oh i tried firebug but it confuses me, i asked questions in their mail group but never got any answers. :/
    I'm no guru with Firebug. It is a bit confusing.

  19. #69
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    412
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by rguy84 View Post
    Also Silver, I noticed you used The_title() two times in your pastebin - did you mean to?
    yup

  20. #70
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    412
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ok so i guess i got everything done but does wordpress allowing creating different pages that would have the blogs and then the archive? for example right now i just got one page and one link and that is the about page but how can i create the pages for all the blog postings and archives?

    also is there a way to divide out the different pages? i want to create a mission statement link but not in the header but on a specific page.

  21. #71
    Is Still Alive silver trophybronze trophy RetroNetro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    6,883
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by silver163 View Post
    ok so i guess i got everything done but does wordpress allowing creating different pages that would have the blogs and then the archive? for example right now i just got one page and one link and that is the about page but how can i create the pages for all the blog postings and archives?
    All of these pages will be generated dynamically.

    Single post: http://www.polar-pos.com/blog/?p=5
    Category page: http://www.polar-pos.com/blog/?cat=1
    Date page: http://www.polar-pos.com/blog/?m=201003

    Quote Originally Posted by silver163 View Post
    also is there a way to divide out the different pages? i want to create a mission statement link but not in the header but on a specific page.
    You can use the wp_list_pages function to generate a list of pages. This list can include the pages you want or can exclude the pages you do not want. Or you can always hard code the links with plain ole' HTML.

  22. #72
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    412
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    am i missing another div tag? i tried validation but that didn't work for me

    here is the code:

    http://silver163.pastebin.com/fHyWgxjB

    please help

    the single.php file is really messed up:

    http://www.polar-pos.com/blog/?p=5

    Categories is also basically like this too

    http://www.polar-pos.com/blog/?cat=1

  23. #73
    SitePoint Wizard rguy84's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Durham, NC
    Posts
    1,659
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Silver copying lines 32 through 58 from pastebin - it looks like you have 4 extra </div> on line 58. That may be something. Next the css file is nearly impossible for me to read. But it looks like you are calling get_sidebar too soon.
    I updated your pastebin: http://silver163.pastebin.com/BUFxjQUS Tell me how that works
    Ryan B | My Blog | Twitter

  24. #74
    Is Still Alive silver trophybronze trophy RetroNetro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    6,883
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Looks to me that you have not closed the main content div. Place a </div> right before the sidebar starts after: <?php endif; ?>.

  25. #75
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    412
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    awesome that worked, i tried that with the categories aka archive.php but the thing went nutter butters on me

    http://silver163.pastebin.com/bar348v6

    that's the code for archive.php i tried to get dreamweaver to scan the code and check for incorrect closures or missing closures but couldn't get it to work.

    and firebug confuses the hell out of me.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •