SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict Eric1776's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    227
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Allowing remote access to MYSQL

    I've searched for a solution for this but can't seem to get a straight answer.
    My host told me that since our MYSQL is now installed we need to enable access remotely. Can anyone help me out with this one? Can't seem to get on MYSQL.com at the moment. But didn't really find anything there earlier.

    I'm really new at MYSQL, so the simpler the better. Thanks

  2. #2
    SitePoint Zealot BlitzCraig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    114
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well, if you're using Windows at home/work, you could download MyODBC from MySQL.com and set that up with your host's IP address. Then you should be able to use whatever database administration tool you want to on it.

    There's also a script called phpMyAdmin that you can install on your web server which will allow you to manipulate the database through a web interface.

    I guess the big two questions are:
    1) What operating system does your host use?
    2) What operating system do you use?

    The answers to those questions will make answering a bit easier...
    Craig H. Rettig - Bitbucket Heaven
    To understand recursion, you must first understand recursion.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Addict Eric1776's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    227
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Actually, after doing some research I think I need to reword my problem. MYSQL is installed on the Apache server, I even have phpmyadmin setup and running. I don't think the problem is with MYSQL but with PHP. (But I really don't know what I'm doing )

    I'm using Dreamweaver MX to create a webpage. I can access the database but when I try to create a recordset I get an undefined error. I'm thinking that Dreamweaver attempts to write to a file on the server but can't.

    I found something that said we need to enable remote access to files from within the php config file. That's what I'm working on now. But first I want to upgrade php, the server is running php 4.0.1 and I think the newest version is PHP 4.2.1

    Anyway, if you have any other suggestions I'm all ears!

  4. #4
    SitePoint Zealot BlitzCraig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    114
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sorry, I'm a text-only coder, and have never used Dreamweaver in my life. Maybe someone else out there can help?
    Craig H. Rettig - Bitbucket Heaven
    To understand recursion, you must first understand recursion.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    None
    Posts
    254
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    In the MySQL database you'll see a field called "hosts", just add the following - % (percentage sign)

  6. #6
    SitePoint Addict Eric1776's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    227
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It worked after upgrading to the latest version of PHP. Thanks for your help!


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •