SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    395
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Linking to frame pages

    I have 2 pages.

    Page #1 is a normal webpage.

    Page #2 is composed of 2 frames, a left side menu and a forum(similiar to this one) on the right.

    I want to link from page #1 to a particular article in the forum AND I want the frames to be preserved.

    I have trouble doing this. It's easy to just link to the article in the forum but the left side menu will be gone and I want it to be there. Is that possible?

  2. #2
    Sultan of Ping jofa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    SvÝ■jˇ­
    Posts
    4,080
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Instead of linking to page.htm, link to a general frameset page and append "?page=page.htm" as a query string
    In the general frameset page; open the menu in the left frame and the variable forum page in the main frame

  3. #3
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    395
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Could you elaborate a bit? I'm not sure about the queries.

  4. #4
    Sultan of Ping jofa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    SvÝ■jˇ­
    Posts
    4,080
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Are you using php or asp for the forum pages?
    (=what kind of code example do you prefer)

  5. #5
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    395
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    im using php

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Adam...

    I use something identical on this site:
    www.plusoneonline.com

    I fudge the frameset with this code:

    <html>
    <head>
    <title>Page Name Here</title>
    </head>

    <frameset framespacing="0" border="false" frameborder="0" bordercolor="000000" rows="80,*">
    <frame name="top" scrolling="no" noresize target="main" src="nav.html" marginwidth="0" marginheight="0">
    <frame name="main" src="<? echo($page); ?>" scrolling="auto" marginwidth="0" marginheight="0" noresize>
    </frameset>
    <noframes>
    <body>
    <p>
    This page uses frames, but your browser doesn't support them.
    </body>
    </noframes>
    </frameset>
    </html>
    </body>
    </html>


    The link looks like this:
    http://www.plusoneonline.com/frame.p...e/welcome.php3

    All it does it take the path that you provide as a string and swap it with the PHP code.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  7. #7
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    395
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Smile

    Thanks I got it working


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •