SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    20
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Major Problems with phpMyAdmin

    Hello all,

    I have PHP 5.2.12, MySQL 5.1.41 and Apache 2.2.14 installed on my Windows 7 machine all working fine. I have decided to install phpMyAdmin (3.2.5) to administer my databases. As it has been a long time since I've installed it, I thought I'd use my SitePoint PHP/MySQL book to guide me through this simple process - no problem. Loaded up http://localhost/phpMyAdmin, got the usual mcrypt error message, and proceeded to login with my root username and password (which are definitely correct).

    Now the problem is that once I login with these credentials, the browser loads http://localhost/phpMyAdmin/index.ph...XXXXXXXXXXXXXX

    and subsequently loads a completely blank page (in Firefox). I thought I'd try this in my other browsers and the results were:

    • IE displays the usual 'Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage' error message.
    • Opera displays a completely blank page.
    • Chrome displays the error message; 'The web page at null might be temporarily down or it may have moved permanently to a new web address.'
    • Safari
    displays the message; 'Safari can’t open the page “http://localhost/phpmyadmin/index.php.....” because the server unexpectedly dropped the connection. This sometimes occurs when the server is busy. Wait for a few minutes, and then try again.'

    I have tried installed a previous version of phpMyAdmin (2) but same thing happens.

    Any suggestons?

    Much appreciated.

  2. #2
    SQL Consultant gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    r937's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    39,216
    Mentioned
    58 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    try HeidiSQL or the MySQL Query Browser instead of phpmyadmin
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL
    "giving out my real stuffs"

  3. #3
    SitePοint Troll disgracian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Samsara
    Posts
    451
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Also, this thread belongs in the MySQL section, not the general database section. There's a whole part of the forum exclusively for MySQL. Can't you look before posting?

    Cheers,
    D.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    20
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by disgracian View Post
    Also, this thread belongs in the MySQL section, not the general database section. There's a whole part of the forum exclusively for MySQL. Can't you look before posting?

    Cheers,
    D.
    I really hope that was tongue in cheek.

    Quote Originally Posted by r937 View Post
    try HeidiSQL or the MySQL Query Browser instead of phpmyadmin
    HeidiSQL looks a nice alternative, may have to give it a try if all else fails. I am used to phpMyAdmin and have used it many times for various projects, just seems like there is something in the configuration somewhere that's tripping it up.

  5. #5
    SitePοint Troll disgracian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Samsara
    Posts
    451
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No, it wasn't.

    Cheers,
    D.

  6. #6
    SQL Consultant gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    r937's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    39,216
    Mentioned
    58 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    it was, however, quite unbecoming
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL
    "giving out my real stuffs"

  7. #7
    From space with love silver trophy
    SpacePhoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Poole, UK
    Posts
    4,998
    Mentioned
    100 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Make sure that error reporting is enabled in php.ini as there could be a php error
    Community Team Advisor
    Forum Guidelines: Posting FAQ Signatures FAQ Self Promotion FAQ
    Help the Mods: What's Fluff? Report Fluff/Spam to a Moderator

  8. #8
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    20
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by SpacePhoenix View Post
    Make sure that error reporting is enabled in php.ini as there could be a php error
    Just had a go, it seems like it cannot load the MySQL extension! Will have a play see if I can see where that's gone wrong.

    Quote Originally Posted by disgracian View Post
    No, it wasn't.

    Cheers,
    D.
    Well first I apologise for putting this in the Database section rather than the MySQL section, I'm sure there'll be a lot of sleep lost over that. Second, instead of a comment like that, how about just reporting the post in order for it to be moved? I've been round here longer than you think so don't let my post count think otherwise.

  9. #9
    From space with love silver trophy
    SpacePhoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Poole, UK
    Posts
    4,998
    Mentioned
    100 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by disgracian View Post
    Also, this thread belongs in the MySQL section, not the general database section. There's a whole part of the forum exclusively for MySQL. Can't you look before posting?

    Cheers,
    D.
    Actually the php forum would be a more appropriate choice as phpmyadmin is a php app.
    Community Team Advisor
    Forum Guidelines: Posting FAQ Signatures FAQ Self Promotion FAQ
    Help the Mods: What's Fluff? Report Fluff/Spam to a Moderator

  10. #10
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    20
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm certainly not having much luck, now seems that PHP cannot even locate the MySQL extension at all! I have extension = php_mysqli.dll unchecked in the php.ini file, can't think of any reason why they're not linking to each other.

  11. #11
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    1,921
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Download xampplite, install it.
    Everything will then work
    (it is a preconfigured apache-php-mysql setup, with a few other bits such as phpmyadmin, for luck). If you wish to text send emails via a php page, yo uhave to configure the php and apache files to point at your real smtp server.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •