SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Internet Explorer line 1 char 1 code 0

    I'm using jQuery+drupal and some jQuery plugins. All is ok with
    Firefox. But in IE's i'm receiving problem like this.

    Line: 1
    Char: 1
    Error: object expected
    URL: /

    I have included .js files. How to know where is the problem? In which
    file? Line 1? Which file?

    If you need source code say me I'll PM you address.

  2. #2
    rajug.replace('Raju Gautam'); bronze trophy Raju Gautam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Kathmandu, Nepal
    Posts
    4,013
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    IE is like that. It cannot say the exact location of the problem/error. Try to see the Error console of FF even if it is working. There might be some errors/warnings. Otherwise remove the JS files that you have used in the page one by one and see which file is causing the problem.

    It would be good if you can show us the running page rather than the particular code.
    Mistakes are proof that you are trying.....
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    PSD to HTML - SlicingArt.com | Personal Blog | ZCE - PHP 5

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Page you can find here: bus inessway.am. Remove whitespace. One guy from stackoverflow help's me, and I fixed problem in IE7 and IE8 by removing some javascript code. But in IE6 I'm receiving same problem.

  4. #4
    rajug.replace('Raju Gautam'); bronze trophy Raju Gautam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Kathmandu, Nepal
    Posts
    4,013
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Oh... sorry dude I don't have IE6 at my laptop.
    Mistakes are proof that you are trying.....
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    PSD to HTML - SlicingArt.com | Personal Blog | ZCE - PHP 5

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ok no problem If you want to use IE6, IE7 and IE8 you can download IETester software.

  6. #6
    rajug.replace('Raju Gautam'); bronze trophy Raju Gautam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Kathmandu, Nepal
    Posts
    4,013
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Toktik View Post
    ok no problem If you want to use IE6, IE7 and IE8 you can download IETester software.
    I had already tried this. There were lots of problems using them together in a system and it is not good to trust on such cracked software. I have an experience while using them in a system. Regarding a JS and a simple CSS issue we spent whole day testing in that IE6 and could not fix the problem finally when we tested the page in original IE6 (that comes with the Windows XP) it was already working fine. So i just uninstalled that application right away and never tried it after all.
    Mistakes are proof that you are trying.....
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    PSD to HTML - SlicingArt.com | Personal Blog | ZCE - PHP 5

  7. #7
    om nom nom nom Stomme poes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    10,233
    Mentioned
    47 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    A lot of those IE6-emulators don't include IE6's native default JS engine (they may have some version of IE7's for example) so for testing Flash or JS, I would always have a real native IE6 available.

    For CSS and rendering, those testers generally seem fine.

  8. #8
    Unobtrusively zen silver trophybronze trophy
    paul_wilkins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    14,526
    Mentioned
    83 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Stomme poes View Post
    A lot of those IE6-emulators don't include IE6's native default JS engine (they may have some version of IE7's for example) so for testing Flash or JS, I would always have a real native IE6 available.
    IETester comes with a completely separate suite of engines for each version.

    Test it for yourself - you'll be hard pressed to find where it differs.
    Programming Group Advisor
    Reference: JavaScript, Quirksmode Validate: HTML Validation, JSLint
    Car is to Carpet as Java is to JavaScript


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •