SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    E-business guru Eirik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    413
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Rendering table while loading

    Hi,

    I remember reading somewhere about how to render a table while it's loading, as apposed to the default which is that the table becomes visible first when the entire content of it is loaded.

    At the time I was thinking "Yeah right, like I'm ever gonna use that!". As it turns out, I was wrong. Does anyone know how this is done? If I remember correctly, it's simply an attribute of the table tag.

    Thanks in advance !
    Sincerely,

    Eirik Johansen
    Netmaking AS

  2. #2
    morphine for a wooden leg randem's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    .chicago.il.us
    Posts
    957
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    specify a width property for your <table> tags and all <td> and <img> tags.

  3. #3
    E-business guru Eirik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    413
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi randem,

    I belive there is another way. Anyone else with any ideas?
    Sincerely,

    Eirik Johansen
    Netmaking AS

  4. #4
    SitePoint Columnist Skunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Lawrence, Kansas
    Posts
    2,066
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don't think there is another way of doing this - I agree with randem's suggestion

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Split your one table up into multiple tables. That's the only way as browser only render the table and it's content after the entire code has been "run".

    For example, if your site looks like this:

    <table>
    <tr>
    <td>header</td>
    <td>content</td>
    <td>footer</td>
    </tr>
    </table>

    Then try splitting it up like this:

    <table>
    <tr>
    <td>header</td>
    </tr>
    </table>

    <table>
    <tr>
    <td>content</td>
    </tr>
    </table>

    <table>
    <tr>
    <td>footer</td>
    </tr>
    </table>

    That way, the header will load first, the body second and the footer last, barring any additional code you may have.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  6. #6
    E-business guru Eirik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    413
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for the tips guys. Still belive there was an attribute setting, though. I seem to vaguely remember something that only worked in IE. Oh well, I guess this will have to do.

    Thanks again !
    Sincerely,

    Eirik Johansen
    Netmaking AS


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •