SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    if ($zee == "Guru") { $zee--;}
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Avoid double submit (Refresh / Back button)

Hi

I need a guidance / suggestion about how to prevent the DOUBLE DATA SUBMISSION to database.

This usually occurs when after the submit, user hit REFRESH button, or hit the Go Back button.

In short, the DATA INSERTION script is refreshed and submit the data again.

Here is my idea.
    Have a code may be md5(time()+session_id) in a hidden field of the form. And upon insertion, first do a check if that code is already there in the database, if the answer is NO, INSERT that, else show a message !

What do you people think, is this idea OK, or there can be some better ways ?

Thanks
    Z

Twitter: @AnthonySterling silver trophy AnthonySterling's Avatar
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    @AnthonySterling: I'm a PHP developer, a consultant for oopnorth.com and the organiser of @phpne, a PHP User Group covering the North-East of England.

Programming Since 1978 silver trophybronze trophy felgall's Avatar
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    The only time a double submit would be a problem is where you have an insert with an autoincrement. Anything else would have no effect since you'd just be replacing data with the same thing, be unable to insert a duplicate, or be unable to delete something already deleted. So in most cases using post-redirect-get is just adding additional processing for no additional benefit - particularly since it doesn't actually prevent the data being submitted again (it just reduces the chance of it happening by accident).
    Stephen J Chapman

javascriptexample.net, Book Reviews, follow me on Twitter
    HTML Help, CSS Help, JavaScript Help, PHP/mySQL Help, blog
    <input name="html5" type="text" required pattern="^$">

SitePoint Wizard
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)